We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Au Vieux Saint Martin

$$ - $$$French, , European
Place du Grand Sablon 38, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 512 64 76
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good43%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak tartare” (23 reviews)
“dame blanche” (8 reviews)
“french fries” (10 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, Belgian, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Place du Grand Sablon 38, Brussels 1000, Belgium
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You won’t find food that surprises or delights you with unexpected flavor combinations at this restaurant... but you will find the Flemish classics such as Carbonnade, Waterzooi, Chickory (Endive) Au Gratin, and Chicken Vol-Au-Vent, all executed well and predictably. A lot of the regulars seated...More

Thank jenniferjuniper2018
Reviewed May 14, 2018

My husband and I went to Au Vieux Saint Martin for dinner. The restaurant was recommended by the concierge of our hotel. They do not accept reservations, but we were seated immediately. We both ordered drinks and were served quickly. The problem came when we...More

Thank Judith G
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

This great,apparently, establishment was our second choice. We opted first for the next door highly praised “L’Entree des Artistes” which turned out to be total disaster with smell of washer chemicals in the air and obnoxious waiters smashing trays of dirty dishes all around us...More

Thank Gary G
Reviewed April 21, 2018

At the time we were in Brussels we visited this coffee for a pitstop and tried the bloody mary, the staff was ok however they were too busy to look after us

Thank nihan19721969
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Very very crowded, but still a very warm service by different waiters. I loved the seat at the counter. Shrimp croquettes came with a lot of fried parsley and were lovely. The voleauvent was also nice - even though not unforgettable. A place you won't...More

Thank Dtr2016
Reviewed February 1, 2018

Crowded noisy restaurant that doesn’t take bookings. So people hang around outside and in the doorway waiting for tables. So don’t take a table near the door on a cold night. Tables very close to each other and scarcely room for waiters to get past....More

2  Thank Peter O
Reviewed January 30, 2018

Atmosphere and service was nice but the food nothing really special. It would help if the menu was in English as well at least for an average customer to make a "safe" choice.

1  Thank Kyriakos M
Reviewed January 29, 2018

No reservations taken here, we went on a Saturday evening at 7.50 and asked for a table for 6 and were told there was a 20 minute wait which we could pass at the bar or outside at the pavement tables. We sat outside, the...More

Thank AH2509
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

Once a reference brasserie at the Grand Sablon, expensive but top quality and service, now poor quality, medium service and menu. We went for a quick meal before a concert. The legumes gourmand was just boiled and lukewarm served dish of vegs, no special sauce,...More

1  Thank inemarien
fredericniels, Propriétaire at Au Vieux Saint Martin, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Dear, Owners are still the same since 50 years!! Nothing changed... Next time please ask for for sthg you want instead of publishing comments like those. Spices, oils and vinegars are available. All our dishes are well spiced but not so much. Customers do not...More

Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

I stopped here with a local who frequents this place and we were lucky enough to find parking right in front which I’m told is nearly impossible as parking is a premium in the area. We were immediately seated at a nice table by the...More

1  Thank Ayal V
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 197 hotels in Brussels
Les Chambres de Martin
4 reviews
.02 km away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
643 reviews
.08 km away
9Hotel Sablon
427 reviews
.16 km away
The Hotel - Brussels
5,215 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pierre Marcolini
139 reviews
.03 km away
POP-UP Sablon
341 reviews
.04 km away
Hispania Brasserie by Marcos Moran
62 reviews
.08 km away
Les Caves du Sablon
244 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium
1,352 reviews
.23 km away
Notre Dame du Sablon
1,690 reviews
.25 km away
Jardin du Petit Sablon
1,181 reviews
.26 km away
Place du Grand Sablon
1,228 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Au Vieux Saint Martin staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50 - US$70
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Place du Grand Sablon 38, Brussels 1000, Belgium
  • Location: Europe  >  Belgium  >  Brussels
  • Phone Number: +32 2 512 64 76
  • E-mail
Description
Specialites belges.Ouvert 7j/7 a partir de 10h.Cuisine ouverte non-stop de 12h a 24h tous les jours sauf les dimanches et jours feries a 23h.Ferme les 24/12 et 31/12 a partir de 15h.Pas de reservations sauf pour les groupes a l'etage.Terrasse chauffee ouverte toute l'annee - Parking aise.Belgian specialtiesOpen 7/7 from 10 AMNon-stop kitchen from 12 AM until 12 PM except on Sundays and holidays until 11 PMClosed on 24/12 and 31/12 from 3 PM.No reservations except for groups on the upper floor. Heated terrace open all year round - Easy parking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;