We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquarel

Simon Stevinplein 2 A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 34 07 44
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (30 reviews)
“pasta” (13 reviews)
“croquettes” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Belgian, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Simon Stevinplein 2 A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant on the tree-lined Simon Stevinplein with both outdoor and indoor seating. The stoverij (beef stew) was mouthwatering and served with salad and fries at a very affordable price.

Thank billbork
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good morning, many thanks for your review and thank you for visiting our restaurant ! We hope to see you again soon. Erwin.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had noted this was a gluten free venue and a possible place for a meal later in the day, but on arriving at 11.30 am wanting a nice coffee we were turned away because we did not want a lunch, it was done politely...More

1  Thank stevebillericay
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning. Many thanks for your review and your visit. However at that time of the day we are in preparation of lunch and we have to be honest to all people asking the same. We serve as of 12 noon our food dishes, including...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm surprised to see the high ratings for this place, our experience was not reflective of them. The staff were friendly, especially the older gentleman who I presumed was the owner. The big let down was our food and the lengthy wait it took to...More

Thank wee j
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning, many thanks for your visit and review. There is no excuse for your experience who should have been a good one in line with all the other reviews you have read. Nevertheless i try to explain : yes we had a very difficult...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was nice, good choice if you want to eat a salad or a Belgian stew. Fries and bread were not artisanal, could be improved in quality.More

1  Thank Nina N
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning, many thanks for your visit and your review. The fries we serve are fresh belgian fries, and more difficult to change unless they were over-fried, we will definitely look into this. The bread is delivered by our supplier St Paulus. We will discuss...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant is ideal for couples and families. The manager was really accommodating and the food was excellent. We went on two evenings as it was really nice with a great atmosphere.

Thank Lesley Q
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning, many thanks for your visit to our restaurant Aquarel and also thanks for the review you have written. We enjoyed also your company and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Erwin & his Aquarel team.

Reviewed 26 July 2017

I stopped by this restaurant at 4:00 pm. They were out of food, since they only use fresh ingredients, and they said they would have more food at 5:00 pm. I returned at 5:00 pm. They were very accommodating and the food was delicious. I...More

Thank Myla G
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dezr customer, many thanks for your review and your visit. Also thanks for your considaration that we needed some time to get everything ready after a very hectic servce at noon. We saw that you enjoyed our fresh food and our company and we look...More

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Fast food was not the word, within seconds of ordering a pasta carbonara I was presented with a bowl of inedible murk and my husbands was equally inedible. Do yourself a favour and don't bother!!!!More

Thank Sue K
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Madam, many thanks for your review. However when asking if you have liked the pasta, you did not react negatively or said it was inedible. It is clear that my menu states the the pasta carbonara is made with pasta of course, cheese sauce...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017

After trying to find a restaurant in Bruges that would please all of our family, we stopped at Aquarel. We had sat down in a very nice, highly recommended restaurant just prior to going to Aquarel, however after 15 minutes no one stopped at our...More

Thank John B
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear customer, many thanks for your review and thanks for your visit to our restaurant. We enjoyed having you at Aquarel and enjoyed even more that you liked our service and fresh dishes. We wish you good travel and hope to see you again soon...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

It lies in a beautiful square, with heavy tourist traffic and horse wagons passing by each minute. The coffee was sadly very poor quality (I only had a double espresso) but the neighbor table enjoyed their food very much. overall nice experience, but way too...More

Thank oleandersman
Erwin D, Manager at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Good morning, many thanks for your review. We keep in mind the remark regarding the coffee, however coffee is very subjective. We buy locally at a small bean burner, and we try to get coffee as close to the taste of our local residents ........More

Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Five of us ate here after a long day walking in Bruges. Host (think it was owner) was very friendly and chatty. No delays in service and all plates were cleaned (every morsel eaten) when we were finished. While the food is not Michelin standard,...More

Thank tokav
Erwin D, Eigenaar at Aquarel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Hi Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again. and Yes, we do not hold a michelin star, but we cook for our customers fresh dishes what they like ! greetz. Erwin and his Aquarel team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
't Brugs Beertje
1,263 reviews
.08 km away
Hashtag Food
572 reviews
.08 km away
de Verbeelding
392 reviews
.08 km away
De Koetse
521 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Savior Cathedral (Sint-Salvatorskathedraal)
562 reviews
.16 km away
Square and Statue of Simon Stevin
123 reviews
.02 km away
Church of our Lady
31 reviews
.20 km away
Monument to Guido Gezelle
5 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GPAofMaldon
13 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Erwin D | Property representative |
Good morning, many thanks for your email. Peter and Cindy left the Aquarel in May 2010. If we can be of further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me. Erwin.
0
Votes
Carl H
4 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Erwin D | Property representative |
Good morning, many thanks for your request. You can email us on info@aquarelbrugge.be to book a table. We are open from 11am till 5 pm. We are not open in the evening. And we are closed for holidays from Monday March 2nd... More
-1
Votes
ted365
26 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Erwin D | Property representative |
Good morning, many thanks for your question. We are open from 11 am till 5 pm each day. Closed on Wednesday and Thursday until March 15th. As of that date, closed only on Thursday. If you have more questions, do not... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$30
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 20:00
Friday
11:00 - 20:00
Saturday
11:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Simon Stevinplein 2 A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
  • Location: Europe  >  Belgium  >  Flanders  >  West Flanders Province  >  Bruges
  • Phone Number: +32 50 34 07 44
  • E-mail
Description
A cosy restaurant, in the city center of Brugge - Bruges. On a square with no traffic serving fresh qualitative food. Every customer is welcome ! Not open in the evening ! Each day from 11 till 17 h, except for Thursday, and during the period of 1 january till 15 march we are also closed on wednesday. Free WIFI ! All credit cards accepted : Mastercard, Visa, Amex, Maestro, Bancontact.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing