We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ship Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beach Front, Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
+44 1239 811816
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 451: English reviews
Aberporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely location with great sea views if you're very lucky with the odd dolphin frolicking in the sea. Food very good staff friendly and helpful well worth a visit but probably worth while booking in advance

Helpful?
Thank foodeatery
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited on two occasions during my recent visit to Pembrokeshire. On both occasions the staff were nothing but courteous and friendly. The food was superb, especially the home made fish cakes. The lunch offering is well worth the price. My only quibble was with the dessert, when apparently it was not possible to substitute ice cream, served with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank martin h
ShipInnTresaith, Team Leader at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi Martin H, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad to hear that you were happy with the food and service on both occasions. The home made fishcakes are a popular choice! Sorry to hear that the ice cream wasn't substituted for you, I will make sure staff are aware that this is allowed. I'm... More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked here from Llangrannog in December and completely misguided how tough the walk was. The staff here were brilliant, so helpful. Put the heat lamps on for us, lovely beer and food, lots of fuss for the dogs and sorted us a taxi back Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Jo B
ShipInnTresaith, Team Leader at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jo B, Thank you for your lovely review, glad to hear you enjoyed the food and drink, and that yourselves and the dogs were made to feel welcome! Well done on the walk, it can be a tough one especially in December! Hope to see you again soon, Holly Hooper More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have reviewed The Ship before, and I am biased in its favour. However, this time I was so disappointed. I had been bigging it up to friends, we saw the lunch time offer online, so off we went. Unfortunately, most of the menu was off (it was only 1.30 and it ran until 5 pm). Only 2 items remained... More 

Helpful?
Thank 111sospanfach
ShipInnTresaith, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience here at The Ship Inn and the drop in our usual high standards or service. We would like to discuss this further with you so we can look into the issues you raise, and would be grateful if you could contact us on shipinn@sabrain.com. Regards, Kayleigh Richardson Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had been told by the people we rented our holiday cottage from that The Ship served great food and that we needed to book, so we had high expectations. The menu looked great and the decor welcoming, but half of the things on the menu were unavailable, and it took forever for us to get served. We had the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
ShipInnTresaith, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to hear of the poor experience you and your family had when you dined with us. I would be very grateful if you could contact me by email at shipinn@sabrain.com to discuss this visit in more detail. Many thanks Kayleigh Richardson Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

On arrival we initially waited over 5 minutes to be seated. We had lovely seats, although it would have been nicer if we didn't have to wait over 35 minutes to have our food order taken. We were told that food would take no more than twenty minutes and ended up waiting 30, with a young child also having to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
ShipInnTresaith, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Charlie I am very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience here at the Ship. We would like to discuss this further with you so we can look into the issues you raise, and would be grateful if you could contact us on shipinn@sabrain.com. Many thanks, Kayleigh Richardson Manager More 

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

Staying locally whilst away for half term. Several items on the menu were unavailable but my disappointment arose from the promise of roasted root veg only to be served a spoonful of stewed cabbage. Not what was expected and unreasonable given the price paid. The waitress was unconcerned, offered no apology nor explanation. Such a shame. You need to pull... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroline g
ShipInnTresaith, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline G Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to offer my apologies for the drop, in our usually high, service & standards that you encountered during your visit here at The Ship. I have always told my staff that honesty is the best policy and am disappointed that rather than informing you... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

Trasaith is our favourite beach when we go to West Wales , and the crowning glory is the pub , The Ship ,which has really superb food . We had the fishcakes - yummy . Good wine list too . Brilliant view of the beach too ....

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
ShipInnTresaith, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi Frank S Thank you for taking the time to write a review and what a lovely review to read! Glad to hear we have not disappointed you on your returning visits...we look forward to welcoming you again Many thanks Kayleigh Richardson Manager More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Love this quint pub! The view of the bay and beach is beautiful, the scenery is great and if your lucky you can spot dolphins too. I've been here with both family including my five year old daughter and my friends. It's a great all rounder. Hot chocolate with marshmallows on a cold day in front of the log fire,... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachelCknight
ShipInnTresaith, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rachel! Thank you for taking the time to review the Ship. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visits to us on many occasions and that Christmas Day visit was everything we hoped to provide - it truly was a great day for all customers and staff. We look forward to seeing you all again. Many thanks... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

Taken by friends for lunch, amazing views, staff , would love to return in the summer and enjoy the full benefits of what this place has to offer. The food was enjoyable and very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank demoman123
ShipInnTresaith, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi demoman123 Thank you for the review on the Ship inn and for taking the time to do so. Its great to hear you would like to return in the summer, we hope to see you again. Many thanks Kayleigh Richardson Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Aberporth, Ceredigion
St. Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beach Front, Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Ceredigion  >  Cardigan  >  Tresaith
  • Phone Number: +44 1239 811816

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Ship Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Cardigan, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?