We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cottage Restaurant

Avenida Sa Carneiro | The Strip, Areias de sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-340, Portugal
+351 919 870 953
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Avenida Sa Carneiro | The Strip, Areias de sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-340, Portugal
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

After reading mixed reviews about this restaurant we decided to try it. I can't understand the 'bad' reviews. I had the steak and jacket potato with veg and pepper sauce. I couldn't fault my meal at all or the service and they were very busy....More

Thank rollonfriday66
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This restaurant claims to serve homemade food so I was very disappointed with frozen chips and frozen onion rings with my meal. I had steak pie,plenty of meat but soggy pastry. The chicken was flattened out as is usual in Portugal, not memorable at all.

2  Thank claire423
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found this place on our last day and the breakfast didn’t disappoint! Partner had double breakfast, and there were 2 other normal breakfasts, lasagne and cheeseburger. All perfectly cooked and ate to our hearts content! Would definitely recommend!

Thank Máire M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I will admit to being a poached egg “snob”, but have nothing but praise for the quality of poached eggs served here. In fact one of the ladies serving actually brought me an extra poached egg as she though one of my eggs was below...More

Thank BurghBabes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently visited as part of a large group for breakfast. The staff were very welcoming and accomodating. The breakfast was acceptable but basic. The prices were very reasonable and I would visit again when looking for a cheap and easy breakfast.

Thank James M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having numerous Portuguese meals in various different restaurants around the resort we decided on Sunday to visit The Cottage for a roast dinner. Both my husband and I had lamb which was delicious and served with mashed potato, roast potato, Yorkie and 3 veg....More

1  Thank goodtotravel
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks your review - I keep missing you as Chez was in Sunday and Monday and I was in Tuesday night! If you are around on Thursday, give me a shout - I will be the one handing out leaflets outside!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dragged in off the street for PROPER HOME COOKING.!!!!!!!! It should not be called a restaurant the food was inedible, home cooked cottage pie was lukewarm and it tasted as if was covered in last nights spaghetti bol, the tomato taste was overpowering, obviously microwaved...More

3  Thank sharonmickle62
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A string of bad reviews and yet we are busier than normal for this time of year! Strange. One of the bosses has been down every night, touting outside, and we've had no feedback from staff or clients about these bad meals. As always, all...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ate here twice , the second time for Sunday Roast. Our first visit was excellentwith dinner for 2 and a bottle of wine for 35 eu , I scoffed my plate clean and so we signed up for the roast as we left. The roast...More

Thank BigBlerk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time here. Food was average but the rashers where very good quality . Place could do with a good clean salt and pepper set, tables ect . I won't be going backMore

2  Thank tony0169
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hope the rest of the breakfast hit the spot like the rashers did! Sorry that your table and s and p pots may have been a bit dirty but is has been manic busy this last week, with waiters changing used tables as new clients...More

Reviewed April 17, 2018

My wife and I were with our two grandsons on our yearly Easter pilgrimage, we decided to revisit this restaurant, what a massive mistake we made. Our meals were on our table far to quickly for our liking, but the presentation on the plate was...More

2  Thank Raymond R
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your meal and that your problems with them were not addressed. Very similar to your last visit when you didn't appear to have enjoyed our restaurant. Mistakes happen and we're sorry it was your meals but we appear to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 151 hotels in Albufeira
Aldeia das Acoteias
9 reviews
.09 km away
Cheerfulway Torre da Aldeia
9 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel da Aldeia
454 reviews
.13 km away
Solar de Sao Joao
262 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
O Farnel
205 reviews
.10 km away
The Wander Inn
679 reviews
.20 km away
Senhor Frogs Pizzeria
1,178 reviews
.15 km away
The Blue Sky
219 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Albertu's Bar
126 reviews
.13 km away
XFlow
35 reviews
.36 km away
Devlin's Irish Bar
109 reviews
.13 km away
Indigo Divers – Albufeira Dive Centre
192 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lindar529629
February 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from martyn h | Reviewed this property |
yes they are open all year, and as far as i am aware they open every day! good english food ar value prices! enjoy.
1
Vote
thomasholmes5
November 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheCottage | Property representative |
Yes, send me your email to knopp2004 @ hotmail. com and I'll send you the details Regards Pete
0
Votes
kennedycaroline14
November 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheCottage | Property representative |
Hi, yes, that's possible - just need to check what space in what sitting I have. Can you send me your email to knopp1@sapo.pt and I can send you the menu and details. We then ask you to let us know what starters and main... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Tuesday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Wednesday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Saturday
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Avenida Sa Carneiro | The Strip, Areias de sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-340, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Albufeira
  • Phone Number: +351 919 870 953
  • E-mail
Description
Open all day, everyday, serving breakfasts, snacks, drinks, lunches, teas and dinners. Large sunny terraces. WiFi, book library, Sky news. Established in 1998
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;