We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
+354 456 4419
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cod cheeks” (25 reviews)
“soup” (55 reviews)
“potatoes” (33 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 358 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I wanted to go here so badly a few days ago, my friend and I had no idea that it would be booked, so please, please be smart and learn from our mistake, make a reservation. It looked beautiful and the reviews I heard from...More

Thank lepetiteedie
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lot of good words are written here about the place. All true. Just go there. Hungry. Great food and beer. Great staff. Guys we love you, thank you very much! Worth any minute and penny. We booked place for lunch in advance. Its recommended.

Thank daydream66
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect restaurant after a 6-days trekking: best fish soup ever, incredible buffet with (at least?) 6 different fish dishes and great salads or other vegetables (very tasty too), very nice service. We will come back!

Thank _sevi_boll
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had no idea what to expect and that was a good thing because we were amazed by the offerings at this restaurant! THE BEST fish we have experienced. So many different ways of cooking the freshest catch of the day. Incredible experience as we...More

Thank S R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recommended by various locals as well as guide books and other tourists, this Restaurant was an absolute gem! The buffet dinner was incredible- the fish soup to start was the best I have ever eaten and the 7 or 8 different fish dishes were amazing....More

Thank SamuelWoolford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a ripper of a place. Most amazing meal.Fish soup to die for followed by about 10'different fish dishes from cod throats to halibut and everything in between. The greatest Icelandic gastronomic experience ever. Go hungry. Fantastic experience. Better than fine dining. Great company and...More

Thank solarisnz
Reviewed 1 week ago

The fish buffet is perhaps the best I've ever tasted. When I had tasted about 8 different courses, the cook was still producing new pans with new recipes! The downside is that when one pays 6,000 ISK for the experience, it's not nice to have...More

Thank HuldaKG
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A once in a lifetime experience to try the freshest fish in at least a dozen different ways over the course of the evening at this inviting restaurant. Be sure to get a reservation for one of the 2 evening seatings.

Thank Candace C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looked at Trip Advisor for the restaurants in Idafjordur. This place came top. And there is a reason. It is fabulous. For 3500 ISK you can have a 2 course lunch with coffee or tea and figs and chocolate. And fabulous it was. Soup was...More

Thank RebeccaES
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had made a reservation a month in advance knowing we were stopping here on the Star Pride windstar cruise. We ended up cancelling a tour so we had lunch and then loved it soooo much we went back for dinner. If you are here...More

Thank michele M
Nearby Restaurants
268 reviews
.75 km away
Gamla Bakariio
130 reviews
.58 km away
Braedraborg Cafe
51 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wild Westfjords
108 reviews
.67 km away
Isafjordur Guide
111 reviews
.91 km away
Borea Adventures
142 reviews
.54 km away
Iceland Backcountry Travel - Day Tours
45 reviews
.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
FAQ Q When is Tjöruhúsið open for business? A First off: we are mostly closed during wintertime (with a few exceptions). We usually close up shop around late October and then start cooking again around Easter (feel free to follow our Facebook page or drop us a line here if you want to make sure). This is for a variety of reasons, mostly because weather conditions in wintertime can make it hard for us to guarantee fresh fish (also, our house is really old and not insulated, so it gets way cold during wintertime). This means that you can’t expect to dine with us from circa early November - late March. Don’t worry though, there’s plenty of nice food to be had in Ísafjörður. And you can always try dropping us a line to see if we happen to be open for some odd reason. But, when you are open for business, what are your hours of operation? We are generally open every single day for lunch from 12oo -14oo, and then dinner from 19oo - 21oo. Do note that since we need fresh fish, etc., our opening hours can be a little sporadic at the beginning and tail-end of the season (spring - late fall), so make sure to call ahead). Q Do I need to make a reservation? A Probably a good idea. Q How can I make a reservation? A You can email us, drop us a line via our Facebook page or call us. We do recommend calling in if you wish to make a reservation with less than three days advance (especially in high-season - it gets crazy!). NOTE: Tjöruhúsið is a family restaurant, and we don’t have a lot of employees or corporate structure or concierge or anything. Sometimes, we’ll get too busy to answer your messages or even pick up the phone (calling during dinnertime isn’t the best idea, for instance). If we don’t respond, please just try again. We’re bound to come around eventually. Q Can I see your menu? A No. Q But I really want to see your menu! A Again, no. Sorry, it’s just, we don’t really have a menu. We just cook whatever’s fresh out of the ocean on any given day (except the salt cured cod - that needs time to cure). At any given time, you can expect us to serve stuff like halibut, wolffish (AKA North Atlantic catfish), cod, pollock, redfish, spotted catfish, salmon, rainbow trout and plaice, in whatever style our chefs are feeling at that very moment. Sometimes we get crazy unusual fish, like monkfish. That’s always fun. For sides (when we’re doing the buffet thing), you can expect: rice, boiled potatoes, mashed potatoes, potato salad, regular salad, barley salad (with peppers and mushrooms and all kinds of nice spices) and whatever else we come up with. We also serve fish soup every day (usually a langoustine base, infused with tomato, cream, and all sorts of fish) and fish stew. During busy season (say, June through August), we usually offer an a la carte lunch (you get to choose which fish you want to feast on), and a buffet dinner (the buffet is really nice, don’t worry, all fresh cooked, and you get to taste everything you want). Q Do you guys do dessert? A Not really, although one of our salt-cured cod recipes we sometimes make kind of verges on dessert territory (it comes with sherry-soaked raisins and almonds). However, feel free to drink all the coffee and/or tea you like, and also there’s a bowl of chocolates. Q I am allergic or averse to whatever ingredient (dairy? gluten? fish?), but I’d still really like to dine with you guys. Can you accommodate my needs and desires? Probably. We’ll sure try. However, you should definitely get in touch with us beforehand to discuss. We hate to disappoint. Q Hi, I’d like a beer with my custom made gluten-free meal. A Oh, you! Q I came by your restaurant and it was closed but there were people hanging out inside and they were laughing and some of them were eating but no one would let me in and I deserve to eat wherever I want, whenever I want. I am enraged and might write furious things about you on the internet! A Listen: sorry about that. We were closed. We sometimes are. But, you know, when we’re closed, we have this nice place to have our friends over at. It would be a shame not to use it, right? Anyway, that time you were over, we were probably celebrating a birthday or something. It’s not you, it’s us. Honest. We sincerely apologise. From now on, we will never close again, in case you might get hungry. No more birthdays. No more joy. Q Don’t be an a**, that’s a legitimate complaint. A You’re right. Sorry. We were just being flippant. Your royal highness. Q Can I get a job at Tjöruhúsið? A Maybe. If you’re nice and fun to be around and can do things that are useful to us (wash dishes, serve food, etc). Try dropping our Department of Human Resources a line at our email. Q Do you have a Reykjavík location? A Nope. We are not affiliated with any restaurants in Reykjavík or elsewhere. Tjöruhúsið is an Ísafjörður thing. Q Anything to add? A Keep it real, y’all!
28 April 2017|
Response from Tjoruhusid | Property representative |
Good one, sir!
4 March 2017|
Response from OpieOP | Reviewed this property |
You need to call them. We called them the day before we went and got a table for two. Make sure you make a reservation as they were absolutely full when we went.
19 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sara H | Reviewed this property |
There are some sides such as salad and bread, but even some of the sides also contained fish. Best to avoid if you have an allergy to fish!
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
11:30 - 00:00
11:30 - 00:00
11:30 - 00:00
11:30 - 00:00
11:30 - 00:00
11:30 - 00:00
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Westfjords Region  >  Isafjordur
  • Phone Number: +354 456 4419
  • E-mail
Tjoruhusið is a fish restaurant in Isafjorður, Iceland. We only serve whatever's fresh out of the ocean on a given day, so there's no menu to speak of, but during high season we usually offer a buffet of everything good for dinner, while lunch tends to be a la carte. For dinner, we generally do two separate seatings, at 7pm and 9pm, although we try to be flexible if possible. Do note that we are for the most part closed during wintertime (from early November 'til Easter, usually), and then that our openings in the early spring months tend to be sporadic. We advise anyone intending to dine with us to call ahead to ensure we are open. Any special needs (lactose/gluten/etc) should be noted in advance. Tjoruhusið does not operate a Reykjavik location and is not at all affiliated with any Reykjavik restaurant, regardless of what some of them might be claiming.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing