We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hofnin

Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 511 2300
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (103 reviews)
“pulled lamb” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Called in for lunch. Excellent fish courses .I had haddock, my wife catfish. My wife's desert also really enjoyed

Thank jeremye14
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from our lunch at Hofnin which we all enjoyed immensely. We picked this place because we wanted to eat somewhere pretty with nice icelandic food but still relatively casual and this seemed to fit the bill, being right on the harbour front. The...More

Thank familyhols12345
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for dinner here as part of our long weekend in Iceland on holiday. Must say the food was second to none, both the ingredients and the preparation. Only thing that was a little annoying was the flippancy of the younger waitress. If a...More

Thank Beenie_19
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. We are happy to hear you liked the food. Your remark about the waitress will be looked into. We do hope you had a nice time in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything great. Wonderful menu great service reasonable price. I had fixed menu featuring reindeer, award winning fish soup, lamb and the licorice ice cream. Wife had halibut. All excellent. Out of the way but worth the trip.

Thank Tim D
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. Great that you liked your dinner. We do hope you had a nice stay in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Look overall the place is nice, the staff is friendly and the view trough the window in to the bay is amazing! But I am in Reykjavík and I have been out in several restaurant already and the best things of the night was the...More

Thank claudiol536
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, not a very good one for us. It happens that things go wrong in the kitchen and in your instance, we can only apologise. However, we hope your trip to Iceland was a nice one and welcome back. The Höfnin...More

Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Went with my wife and two foreign friends to have a traditional icelandic seafood dinner. The food lived up to expectations, the environment was relaxed and the view over the harbour was great. Overall a very nice evening.

Thank eggertt2017
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. We are happy to hear the food was up to your expectation and that you had a nice time. Hopefully the foreign friends had a good time in Iceland. Welcome back. The Höfnin team

Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I both had the artic char. It was fantastic! We didn’t have a reservation so we were lucky to get in. Service was very good ! I would recommend highly.

Thank Barbara V
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. We are happy to hear you liked the arctic char and the service. Thank you for recommending us. We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed October 1, 2018

Very tasty fish dishes. Perfectly prepared and served by helpful and friendly staff. A must visit for a traditional Icelandic fish meal.

Thank Savra
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you so much, your input is much appreciated. We are happy to read that you liked the meal and and our staff. We do hope you had a very good time in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited last night and came away really disappointed with this restaurant. When we arrived, we were told there was a table available by the window if we could wait a couple of minutes but ten minutes later we were still standing....More

Thank jen1980B
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Sorry about your experience. Regarding the wait for a window table - sometimes it looks like guests are leaving and then it takes them a few minutes more to get sorted, that's probably what happened between the couple of minutes and the ten. Regarding the...More

Reviewed September 8, 2018

Went after seeing movies in the little theater next door. Very cozy restaurant with excellent food. Had the curried lamb and it was wonderful. Prices bit high, but not unusual for Reykjavik. Highly recommended

Thank Susie B
Benedikt_Bragason, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. We are happy to read you were happy with our restaurant and the food. We do hope you had a nice time in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 55 hotels in Reykjavik
Exeter Hotel by Keahotels
37 reviews
.10 km away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
2,507 reviews
.11 km away
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
352 reviews
.12 km away
Metropolitan Hotel
398 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rio Reykjavik
186 reviews
.06 km away
Reykjavik Rost
124 reviews
.02 km away
The Steak House
832 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reykjavik Viking Adventure
19 reviews
.08 km away
Volcano House
1,627 reviews
.10 km away
Ambassador
6 reviews
.01 km away
Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village
165 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
marinad353
September 3, 2017|
Answer
Response from Andrew S |
I would advise you contact the restaurant directly for a reservation this large on such a busy night. hofnin@hofnin.is
0
Votes
rusAKAzaza
June 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from swigle | Reviewed this property |
The website states closing time is 10pm.
1
Vote
Holualoa
May 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Philip H | Reviewed this property |
You park in a city car park or in a nearby street.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Capital Region  >  Reykjavik
  • Phone Number: +354 511 2300
  • E-mail
Description
Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing