We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tartarun Fish Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
29 Xatt is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1301, Malta
+356 2165 8089
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:30
19:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 - 15:30
Tue - Sat 19:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 471: English reviews
Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2015

A restaurant which offers amazing food and service. Waiters are courteous, well mannered and offer the best service ever. Plus the food is impeccable! Don't think you can get better food in Marsaxlokk than at Tartarun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Nice ambience, excellent service. Have been to this place at least 10 times over the last few years. Excellent food throughout. My weaknesses are the prawn carpaccio and cippullazza (rockfish) cooked al cartoccio. Great selection of wines, daily specials. Try it.

Helpful?
1 Thank ksjfhhgg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Really fantastic fresh fish! We visited on a Sunday - best to book in advance else you'll be unlikely to get a table. Very helpful staff, food was at a sensible price also.

Helpful?
1 Thank alexmacdonald17
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
590 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Very pleased with our meal here. Do not understand the previous review as all I had to do was raise my hand to anyone. It is true we arrived early. The soft shell crab was perfect, the octopus probably the best I've ever had, but I know I have said that before. The plateau royal of shrimp, razor clams, cockles... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hask74
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We dropped in on pleasant summers evening because one of our group was a great fish lover, and where better to look for fish than in Marsaxlokk! Sadly we were to leave - a long time later - hugely disappointed - the service was quite dreadful and the food was no great shakes. No, I'm afraid we won't be rushing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 795Traveller
s_schiavone, Owner at Tartarun Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 795Traveller, many thanks for choosing Tartarun as your preferred restaurant for your dining requirements and for finding time in forwarding us with your feedback. Fish is truly our passion and our produce is chosen with great care, so we are very sorry to hear that you were not impressed with the food. We will surely take this opportunity to... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

As number two restaurant in Marsaxslokk, we were expecting a special dinner. Indeed, the menu was interesting and the food was very good indeed. But the service was very disappointing. They didn't really seem to care, were very inflexible and were great at avoiding us when, for example, we needed more water. The bill was on the high side of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianDSmith
s_schiavone, Owner at Tartarun Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear BrianDSmith, many thanks for choosing Tartarun as your preferred restuarant for your dining requirements and for finding time in forwarding us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. Regarding your comments on the service, sorry that you were not impressed, I will surely take the opportunity and investigate further. I would truly appreciate... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2015

This is a restaurant for fish lovers. We eat the sea bas but try also the catch of the day. Service is friendly and try the Malta wines. They are good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller123_Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Such great service the food was so fresh and was not very expensive loved eveything about it my fish was deboned at the table in seconds was amazing

Helpful?
2 Thank Bec S
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

The restaurant nothing to say beautiful location. apparently fresh fish. I want to point out, however, the service is not up, as the table is not been laid immediately. and towels never arrived we had to ask them to dinner already begun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore B
s_schiavone, Owner at Tartarun Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Salvatore B, many thanks for choosing Tartarun and for finding time in forwarding us with your feedback. With regards to your comment on the freshness of the fish; Tartarun guarantees a high level fish product. It is our pride to put on display locally caught fresh fish. The wooden bar tables, similarly the bar top, are kept clear because... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Amazing fresh food. Top notch service. Clean and good portions. Fresh top quality ingredients. Its a must to visit. Cant wait to re visit

Helpful?
3 Thank Fiff Z
s_schiavone, Owner at Tartarun Fish Restaurant, responded to this review

many thanks for choosing Tartarun and for leaving a positve review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Once again thank you for your time and hope to host you once again. Kindest regards, Stephen More 

Travellers who viewed Tartarun Fish Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tartarun Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Seafood, European, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:30
19:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:30
19:30 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:30
19:30 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:30
19:30 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:30
19:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 Xatt is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1301, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Marsaxlokk
  • Phone Number: +356 2165 8089

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tartarun Fish Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tartarun Fish Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?