We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Ofenloch

$$ - $$$German, , European
Kurrentgasse 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
+43 1 5338844
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (8 reviews)
Opens in 17 min
Hours
CUISINES
German, Austrian, European, Central European, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kurrentgasse 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Horrible. After soup i had stomach ache. The second course was not eatable. Definately would not advise!More

Thank pamela b
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, it is not possible for us afterwards to understand your dissatisfaction. Honestly, we also doubt the credibility and authenticity of this review because it does not even mention which soup or dish should...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose the Ofenloch for a dinner party celebrating our son’s birthday and could not have been more pleased. The location near the Judenplatz, one of Vienna’s most beautiful squares, is perfect for anyone staying in the city center. Because we were a mix of...More

Thank Johnnie W
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed you dinner birthday party of your son! Thanks a lot for your high rating, your detailed description and your recommendation.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good classical restaurant at the centre of Wien close to the Park Hyatt hotel. Good specialities from Wien. Waiters are friendly, speak good English. Good wine selection and waiters will offer useful advice for Austrian wines.

Thank Rojappan
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your rating. We are happy that you enjoyed our Austrian dishes and wines as well as our friendly service team!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for lunch to try the Wiener schnitzel and prime rib. Both dishes were very good along with the potatoe salads they came with. The prices are a bit high but you are in a major European city so that’s to be expected....More

1  Thank CGin23
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your high rating. We are pleased that you loved our Schnitzel and prime rib als well as our potato salad.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant after hotel concierge recommended it. Service was slow and not the best..... We had Deer soup,beef broth,schnitzels,Pasta for the kids (all 4 portions were undercooked...and hard,definitely not "al dente "that they justified..) We were a big family and we all left...More

Thank tekilaAthens
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very sorry that we could not satisfy you, because this is our ultimate ambition. Afterwards it is always difficult to react to a criticism concerning the food - normally we change a dish, if our guests are not satisfied with the quality, but...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Is not a bad restaurant, is simply not a good one. Ambience is nice, service is good, food is absolutely average and slightly overpriced. I’m not telling you not to go, just don’t go with great expectations. PS. Beware, this is the kind of places...More

Thank Working T
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations. But we have to say that we do not price you 6 Euros for bread. In good restaurants it is common to have a cover charge which is an expression of hopitality. It is designed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An authentically traditional, and good quality restaurant. Our server was friendly, courteous, very competent at conversing in English, and was informative and helpful when asked about wine choices. Our food was generously portioned (particularly the starter dishes), it was cooked well, and it represented fair...More

1  Thank martindp
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback and your high rating. We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and that you felt well looked after by our service team. So we reached our goal, to satisfy all our guests and make them feel comfortable.

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a memorable meal in what felt like a traditional Viennese restaurant. Staff were attentive and took time to describe the food and wine. The food was good and we were able to eat some traditional dishes that we had previously read about and were...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very happy that you loved our traditional Viennese atmosphere and food. Thank you for your high rating and the recommendation!

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We showed up on a Monday - without a reservation - and they were able to squeeze us in before they needed the table from us. They were VERY clear about this up front and we chose to accept the table. The service was top-notch;...More

Thank VegasJoe
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very very much for your amazing feedback and your high rating! We are pleased that you loved our setting, our food and our service. Thanks a lot for your high recommendation!

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Tourist trap. Atmosphere five stars. Food not good. Beef soup tasted like water. Goulash weird. When the water picked up the half full dishes there were no questions, only a “Maybe a little too much for you!” ( we had ordered the small helpings).More

Thank Hafniensis
Restaurant-Ofenloch, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Ofenloch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback - I´m very sorry, that we could not meet your expectations. Our guests are composed of many domestic and foreign regulars as well as tourists. Please let us know immediately, if something does not turn out to your taste -...More

Nearby
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards
Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks
such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera),
Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral)
and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’
former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as
Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse
and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the centre. The
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 358 hotels in Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
1,256 reviews
.12 km away
Hotel Wandl
432 reviews
.15 km away
Arthotel ANA Amadeus
219 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Das Tigra
978 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kolar
198 reviews
.06 km away
The Bank Brasserie & Bar
470 reviews
.12 km away
Mel's Diner
220 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Peter's Church
3,298 reviews
.16 km away
Judenplatz Holocaust Memorial
207 reviews
.11 km away
Clock Museum (Uhrenmuseum)
138 reviews
.04 km away
Am Hof
92 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
eastbaycc
10 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Edward W | Reviewed this property |
Yes, credit cards were accepted. Was an enjoyable meal
2
Votes
mickb2512
12 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Restaurant-Ofenloch | Property representative |
We are very sorry, but we are closed on 24th and 25th of December 2016, because we allow our staff a peaceful and merry Christmas with their families. However, we are looking forward to welcome you from 26th of December... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$29
Cuisine
German, Austrian, European, Central European, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kurrentgasse 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
  • Location: Europe  >  Austria  >  Vienna Region  >  Vienna>  > Inner City
  • Neighbourhood: Inner City
  • Phone Number: +43 1 5338844
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing