We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition

Skagen 26, Stavanger 4006, Norway
+47 815 52 881
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good40%
  • Average22%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“casserole” (3 reviews)
“cheesecake” (5 reviews)
“bacalao” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Skagen 26, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food in a restaurant full of character and nautical memorabilia. The upstairs restaurant was closed on the Public Holiday, but the bistro offering downstairs was more than adequate. NB Sorensens is located right on the historic old ward of Stavanger. Worth a visit.

Thank TravellingFarAway
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to write an review about your dinner at NB Sørensen. We are glad to see that you had a good time here. We hope too see you again another time. Best regards, Anniken, head server

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant is placed in a nice location and offers a typical Norwegian atmosphere. Food is good but there is not so much choice...

Thank Tony M
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Hi Tony. Thank you for taking the time to write an review about your dinner at NB Sørensen. We are glad that you had a good time here. Hope to see you another time. Best regards, Anniken, head server

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Really chilled diner/restaurant/bar. Good food and drink for not toooooo ridiculous prices. We're here for the second night in a row and wouldn't rule out another visit before we leave. Friendly staff and good service. Would recommend to anyone.

Thank Jo P
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Hi Jo. Thank you for taking your time to write an rewiew about your stay at NB Sørensen. We are happy to hear that you hade a great time. Hope too see you again. Mvh Anniken, main server

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The last time I ate at Sørensen resulted in a poor pasta meal, but time has past, and I´m willing to give a new chance. Reading through the menu, I see that the hamburgers are made from meat delivered by the local Idsøe butcher, which...More

Thank Stephan S
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Dear Stephan. Thank you for taking the time to write a rewiew about your stay at NB Sørensen. We always aim to deliver the highest level of service to our guests, and I can cleary see that we did not deliver on this occation. We...More

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Just stopped for a night cap. 3x small pale ales and 3x aquavit. There goes £60! Aquavit was excellent. Will be back

Thank mohawkredbull
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you very much for review about your stay at our bar. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Hope too see you again soon. Best regards, Anniken, main server

Reviewed 14 February 2017

My group of three didn't stay to try the limited menu since it took several arm waves and 8 minutes to just get the menu. We asked the manager a bit earlier, but he just stated the waitress will be over. It didn't take long...More

Thank michaelrue88
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Dear Michael. Thank you for taking the time to write a rewiew about you stay at NB Sørensen We always aim to deliver the highest level of service to our guests, and I can clearly see that we did not deliver on his occation. We...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were a group of four people who went here to eat and have some drinks. Started of with drinks in the bar. Service was excellent and a good range of beers, wines, drinks etc. We then went up to "2 etg.", which means "2nd...More

Thank Stian Dunseth S
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Dear Stian Thank you very much for taking the time to write an rewiew about your dinner. We are very happy too see that you had a great time at NB Sørensen. We are looking forward to see you again another time. Best regards Anniken,...More

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Dropped in for a glass of wine with a colleague. This, just have a minor knowledge what this place really have to offer. But the location close to the harbour was great, and the interior was nice with a long bar. The bartender was also...More

Thank Gourmettrollet
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for taking your time to write an rewiew about your stay at NB Sørensen. We are happy to hear that you hade a great time. Hope too see you again. Mvh Anniken, main server

Reviewed 24 January 2017

The restaurant was far from busy but the waiter seamed not to interested in paying attention to his guests. The mussels was fine, but less tasty than preffered. The herbs seamed to have been watered out in the cooking process.More

1  Thank Bodilla
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Dear Bodilla. Thank you for taking the time to write a rewiew about your stay at NB Sørensen. We always aim to deliver the highest level of service to our guests, and I can cleary see that we did not deliver on this occation. We...More

Reviewed 12 January 2017

We were a group of 7 people that chose the 5 course menu(plus some extras) except the wine that we chose from their considerable wine list. The food was great and quite original. Dishes that we known to us, such as "lutefisk" with a considerable...More

Thank brutusOslo
Anniken P, Leder  at N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition, responded to this review

Dear Brutus. Thank you very much for taking the time to write an rewiew about your dinner. We are very happy too see that you had a great time at NB Sørensen. We are looking forward to see you again another time. Best regards Anniken,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cardinal
174 reviews
.06 km away
Dognvill Burger
781 reviews
.12 km away
Fisketorget
538 reviews
.12 km away
Tango Bar & Kjokken
239 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Stavanger
1,397 reviews
.21 km away
Ovre Holmegate
161 reviews
.21 km away
Stavanger Maritime Museum
108 reviews
.13 km away
Skagenkaien
57 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from N.B. Sorensens Dampskibsexpedition staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 22:00
Monday
16:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Skagen 26, Stavanger 4006, Norway
  • Location: Europe  >  Norway  >  Western Norway  >  Rogaland  >  Stavanger Municipality  >  Stavanger
  • Phone Number: +47 815 52 881
  • E-mail