We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beagle Pub

) #117 of 364 Restaurants in Ipswich $$ - $$$ , British,
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good28%
  • Average22%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (5 reviews)
“premier inn” (24 reviews)
“nice pub” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

A nice welcome, excellent dinner, attentive and efficient service. Good food with generous portions. The waitress who served my wife and I could not have been more helpful.

Thank 835geoffw
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi 835geoffw, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Such a lovely review and thank you for the 5 stars. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Clare

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the beagle in Ipswich and was very impressed with everything. Would highly recommend the beagle to anyone.

Thank julie h
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Julie H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I'm glad you enjoyed the food and service. Thanks Clare

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely building and attractive interior. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food was good on both courses and the staff were attentive. Thoroughly recommend.

Thank Jill M
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Jill M, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! It was lovely to read and will be shared with all the team on duty. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Heather Chandler Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Beagle for a meal with friends and noticed the restaurant as very busy. However, we were greeted immediately and taken to our table in a quiet corner. The staff were very helpful and accommodating all evening. The food was very tasty...More

Thank Tina R
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tina R, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the service and the food and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks clare

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyable evening meal , part of the vintage Inn group. Service and value to be recommended. Adjacent to Premier Inn. Not much else in the immediate vicinity.More

Thank Robert H
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robert H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I'm glad you enjoyed the service and yes very handy being next door to the premiere inn. Look forward to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at The Beagle as we had been busy all day and needed a quick meal to get out again in the evening. The waitress told us that a couple of the choices might take around 30 minutes as they were cooked from fresh...More

Thank slowerandslower
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Slowerandslower, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Look forward to seeing you again. Regards Clare

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Went for a nice family get together, however as soon as we walked service was incredibly poor. Cutlery wasn't clean; waitress was leaning over our food; our table was forgotten regularly (took 40 mins to get a glass of wine and then another 40 to...More

Thank charl147
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Charl147, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at The Beagle, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact us on 01473730607 to discuss...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

We stayed in premier Inn ( chantry park) which is next door and menu of this pub restaurant is available in the rooms of premier Inn. Had a fabulous English steak mushroom pie cooked on the premises and real marques ale "Broadstair". Service, ambience and...More

Thank sandip R
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback, Sandip R. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Beagle. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Clare

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Good Food friendly staff. You might have to wait unless you've reserved a table. Worth waiting. Drinks not cheap!

Thank Ken W
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Ken, Thank you for the great feedback I'll pass onto to the team, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards David Chandler General Manager

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Some nice food on menu, but had to wait an hour for main courses. We had starters as that gives them a chance to get the main ready but still ended up waiting an hour for the main.. staff were very attentive and apologetic but...More

Thank thundachild
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Thundachild, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Sad to hear that we made you wait for your meals but glad that the team apologised and explained. I do hope that you feel able to visit again in the future....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Belstead Arms
20 reviews
1.59 km away
The Riverside Bar Restaurant
39 reviews
1.57 km away
The Beagle
297 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shed
7 reviews
1.29 km away
Riverhills
176 reviews
2.55 km away
New Wolsey Theatre
642 reviews
3.54 km away
Red Rose Chain Theatre
50 reviews
2.88 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
JulesP82
We used to go here just over a year ago but loved away. First meal since we moved back to Ipswich and it's gone so down hill which is such a shame. Service was incredibly slow and uncaring. When our mains came out mine was missing. After waiting a while I asked and was told she would look into it however she didn't come back. I went to find someone who again went to find out. Original lady then came back to ask me what I ordered. God knows what she was doing all that time. My main eventually came. I ordered the cous cous. It was about a tablespoon of cous cous with a full plate of iceberg lettuce and what tasted like half a pint of vinegar on it and two chunks of coconut. I couldn't eat it. Husband and toddlers meals came out ok though nothing to shout about. Ordered drinks which we had to chase up twenty minutes later. I was asked how the meal was and advised of the above. She said oh sorry about that and disappeared for the bill. My main was taken off the bill however no real apologies for what was meant to be a special evening. Not going back
14 September 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
I am sorry you were not happy with the service and from what you described it was not acceptable. I was pleased to hear that they took the meal of the bill and apologised to you and sorry that you felt that this apology was... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing