We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Standing Order

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AU, England
+44 1438 316972
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So the last 2 meals I have ordered here were actually edible which surprises me due to the recent track record. Countless times I have had to send my food back - usually because it's burnt, raw, cold, looks like an utter mess or countless other reasons, but the last 2 occasions have actually been ok. Whoever is working in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Well this place is a disgrace to the wetherspoon chain. The toilets whilst normally not bad have been either recently gutted and there was no loo roll for visiting customers. When asked downstairs they said we simply haven't got any! Can you believe it? Downstairs the place was filthy and smacked of "we simply can't be bothered" empty glasses everywhere,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

TBH it is probably what you expect for the prices. Had fish and chips with a pint for 8 quid. Now that has got to be almost unbeatable. The downside is the quality. Sorry it's a mediocre score but despite the price it just wasn't great.

Helpful?
Thank Dean W
England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

You know what you're going to get here. Food is exactly the same as every other Wetherspoons. Cheap prices attract those who want to drink on the cheap all day and become a loud annoyance to other visitors and it's for this reason I don't visit any more. Ok for a meal during the day and on a weekend evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank jansjournal
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

The establishment is a nice place with good atmosphere. Plenty of space inside and out on nice days. Staff were pleasant , only criticism is not enough staff so the wait was a bit longer then expected to be served. Food was good with quality, amount and value. Good place to have a meeting as there are plenty of tucked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigt5555
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Had a really nice lunch with some friends at the Standing Order. Been there to drink quite a few times before but it's the first time I've eaten there. The menu has the amount of calories listed for each product which helps you make choices if necessary. All of us ordered separately but our food all came out together and... More 

Helpful?
Thank therichastill
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I had a meal at The Standing Order yesterday which was both very poor and disappointing. I am not one to usually complain, however, today's meal was an exception. Firstly, the bar member failed to mention that there was a lack of ingredients in the kitchen today, and if informed, we would have ordered an alternative to avoid disappointment. Secondly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnaMaaV
Standing O, Manager at The Standing Order, responded to this review

Hi Ana, First of all could I please apologise for the experience that you had that evening in our pub. If it is possible could you send us an email with your contact number to p1031@jdwetherspoon.co.uk in order that we contact you. Thanks More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

When we visit the Old Town, Stevenage we always have a drink or two in the Standing Order, it is a really pleasant place to enjoy a drink, sociable, friendly and has a very relaxed feel about it.

Helpful?
Thank Headbarman
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Was in a few times over the course of 5 days. You get what it says on the tin. Typical Wetherspoon's. Found the food to be ok and as you'd expect the drink is reasonably priced which I suppose is the reason it was always busy! No real issues.

Helpful?
Thank rablfc1892
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We were looking for an evening meal as our hotel had let us down. This pub offered a good choice of menu and the prices were fair. The food was served in good time and there was plenty of it. Service was good, staff very friendly. Would recommend to anyone in the Stevenage area .

Helpful?
Thank chrisW8071IL

Travellers who viewed The Standing Order also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Standing Order? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Stevenage
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 316972

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Standing Order and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Delft, The Netherlands
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Standing Order staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?