We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barley Mow

$$ - $$$, British,
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
+44 1754 820883
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“belly pork” (28 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Birthday meal with my husband ordered creamy garlic mushrooms x 2 my husband ordered rump steak I ordered ribeye steak,starter came out I was given what looked like half a portion husband given portion twice the size of mine, when we queried this. Was told...More

1  Thank jade881
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here to celebrate me and my partners 2 year anniversary and the food was amazing. I had the mushroom soup for starter which was delicious, followed by steak which was cooked perfectly and to top it off pecan pie for dessert. This was the...More

2  Thank TheCritique23
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family meal on a Friday before we left the in laws. We had been here before a few years ago, but I didn’t remember the place until we arrived. We hadn’t booked and had to wait for about 45 mins for a...More

1  Thank yoz08
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is truly one of the greats in the area with supreme starters and marvellous mains you will not be disappointed. The staff are so friendly and make you feel right at home no matter what the occasion I would recommend the barley mow.

1  Thank Jack H
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been talking about coming here for a couple of years but never got round to it, so as a last minute decision we booked a table tonight.. And wow! Without a doubt the best steak we have ever eaten and...More

5  Thank SarahMichaelHenly
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Oh my god! This place never disappoints we had Sunday lunch here and it was wonderful. Both myself and my husband had the roast lamb it was beautiful,the vegetables are just as lovely well cooked and just as nicely presented as the main . From...More

1  Thank julieannburke
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Julie Ann Thank you for your review, and your continued custom. we've started to do Lamb and its proved very popular, so its now got a permanent position on our Sunday lunch menu! We look forward to seeing you soon Regards Jayne and Team...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We go to the 80s weekend at Butlins in Skegness. And every time we go we always make time for a trip to the Barley Mow! We went Saturday lunch time this time, and were met with a warm greeting! We had noticed that their...More

2  Thank Treechopper
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello Thank you for your lovely review, Butlins 80's weekends are very popular and we get alot of trade from it, ( thank you Butlins) people like yourselves that come back everytime and always pop in to see us for a meal. I was happy...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017

If you want a good homecoming cooked Sunday lunch, this is the place to come. The food is very tasty and well presented. The staff are friendly and give good service, but beware you must book as they get very busy. Also they can overbook...More

1  Thank laniaboys
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello Thank you for your great review, our Sunday lunches are very popular and it has become our busiest day of the week, as you've stated booking is recommended, although we do try to accommodate walk in guests where at all possible. We try to...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Beautifully cooked food at a reasonable price early evenings. Had goats cheese filo tart and veg then had to make room for sweet phew

1  Thank Maureen T
Reviewed 28 August 2017

With military precision, our party was booked in for the required time slot and we were told to arrive 15 minutes early to sort drinks and choose from the menu. This turned out to be a crafty little ploy as almost 45 minutes after arrival...More

1  Thank BinksumSinkum
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Suttons Traditional Fish and Chips
37 reviews
4.12 km away
The Old Chequers
128 reviews
6.23 km away
Bricklayers Arms
102 reviews
7.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Batemans Brewery
159 reviews
3.66 km away
Lincolnshire Wildlife Park
833 reviews
4.34 km away
George Bateman and Son
15 reviews
3.71 km away
Gibraltar Point National Nature Reserve
551 reviews
7.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Eddiecar2
24 October 2017|
Answer
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hello Thank you for your enquiry, I'm very sorry, we don't allow dogs. We do have a large car park and our conservatory overlooks the car park, so if you are happy to leave your dog in the car, you will be able to see... More
0
Votes
kellybergmanas
27 September 2017|
Answer
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
hello thank you for your enquiry, we do not offer a vegan menu but our vegetarian choices can be adapted to suit vegans, as we make them to order. hope thats of help regards Jayne
1
Vote
j0hnp0ppy
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for you're enquiry, we do indeed cater for Gluten free diets, as most dishes are prepared on sight, we can adapt to suit GF diets, alot of sauces are reduced or thickened with arrowroot or butter and cream... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Skegness
  • Phone Number: +44 1754 820883
  • E-mail
Description
We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness, we boast a large car park, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a separate dining room on the side overlooking the countryside. We close all day Monday and serve evening meals from Tuesday to Saturday evening and lunches from Friday to Sunday. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!! We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable cosy yet modern village pub with restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing