We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Ball Inn

) #40 of 271 Restaurants in Rotherham $$ - $$$ , British,
Whiston | 7, Turner Lane, Rotherham S60 4HY, England
+44 1709 726911
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good24%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (6 reviews)
“ham hock” (7 reviews)
“pies” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Whiston | 7, Turner Lane, Rotherham S60 4HY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 448 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

We visit here for dinner most weeks and been going for a couple of years. I have vintage Inns much nearer but this is my favourite. The staff are so pleasant and try very hard to please. The food is better than a lot of...More

Thank Sue W
Reviewed yesterday

Excellent food well presented. Good quality reasonably priced wine recommendations by the waitress (Beverley)

Thank Julie S
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We frequent the Golden Ball on a regular basis and have never had a bad meal in there. Charlie and her team are always helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Tables are always cleared and the food is great.

Thank Jo F
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife visited the pub after some years in mid week and had food from the midweek lunch choices so we decided to take friends for Sunday lunch. We booked into the restaurant and our waiter was the very friendly and attentive Lou who quickly...More

Thank Brian H
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Brian, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Golden Ball Inn. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care! The Golden Ball...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here as a one off on aMonday night. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. You could have a fixed menu which was really good value. Great little find. Also serves real ale.

Thank raquelSheffield
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Raquelsheffield, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Golden Ball Inn! Kind Regards The Golden Ball Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived as it was quite busy and had to wait a while to speak to someone at the bar. We later found out it was the girls second shift and she was alone behind the bar at a very busy time. We had booked...More

1  Thank Lesley G
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Lesley, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 441709726911 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I invited an out of town friend to my 'local'. Not only did they do me proud, the chef excelled in a perfect medium rare fillet steak. The prawns and scallops starter were delicious. The female staff were friendly and efficient. Haste la vista!More

Thank HolidayfanDerbyshire
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Holidayfanderbyshire, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Golden Ball Inn! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was impressed with this pub, after reading some of the reviews I was dubious but I couldn't have been more wrong. The car park is large and easy to access, the welcome from the manager was warm and welcoming and she was attentive all...More

Thank ARWMN
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Arwmn, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations and we really appreciate your positive review! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! Kind Regards Charlie General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor service,poor food. My mums belly pork was tough! No steak on children's menu,ordered sausages which had to be sent back even waitress agreed they looked awful. One waitress was particularly poor never asked if everything was ok. Not enough staff too much waiting for...More

1  Thank Baumyarmy
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear from you soon. All the best, The Golden Ball Inn 441709726911 Baumyarmy, we regret to hear that you had this experience...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place and nice location, staff friendly and beer good. Food menu looked great and we were told by a few people the food was great, will be returning soon for a meal here.

Thank GHV8
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Ball Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ghv8, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Golden Ball Inn! Thank you again for leaving us this response!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Pondicherry
185 reviews
1.51 km away
Cuccinis
126 reviews
1.50 km away
The Hind
231 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Winthrop Park
10 reviews
3.76 km away
Clifton Park
542 reviews
3.08 km away
Clifton Park and Museum
177 reviews
3.07 km away
Aston Springs Farm
164 reviews
3.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mandy P
16 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from monkeynesssheff | Reviewed this property |
It's not unreasonable to give a 2 hour window
0
Votes
Hugh N
10 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Mickalla H |
Who runs it.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whiston | 7, Turner Lane, Rotherham S60 4HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 726911
  • E-mail
Description
The Golden Ball Inn in Whiston is a country pub with a comfortable and relaxed dining area oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing