We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playhouse

) #92 of 396 Restaurants in Colchester $ , British,
4 St. Johns Street, Colchester CO2 7AA, England
+44 1206 571003
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good43%
  • Average20%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“curry” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 St. Johns Street, Colchester CO2 7AA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Whilst in town..shopping with family..stopped here for lunch..as the old saying goes you get what you pay for..it was cheap..and the food and service..reflected this.

Thank bigbarryEssex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my mum for a meal here after a long day out. We had great service but two staff members really stand out and they are Jamie and Nick. They went out of their way to enable my Mum to have a desert to...More

Thank DeborahG1960
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are regulars at our local spoons, but our visit to the playhouse in colchester was our worst to date. we found a table ordered food and were quite concerned as a group of youngsters were smoking weed in one of the booths, we complained...More

Thank Dawn H
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your visit, and would like to confirm that we do not condone such things occurring on our premises. I'd also like to confirm that the issue was dealt...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been here on many occasions with friends, partner, work colleagues, even with my in-laws. They all love the relaxed atmosphere here and the food is delicious and reasonably priced. By far my favourite meal is Lamb shank which is served with mash, gravy and...More

Thank Alexandra I
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review! We're pleased you enjoyed your visit, along with all your guests, and we're pleased you took advantage of some of our food and drink deals. The Lamb Shank is a popular one! We hope to see you again in...More

Reviewed 18 May 2017

Had no idea this place existed as I am not local. Was brought here for lunch and although it was around 1pm the place wasn't overly busy but still had a good atmosphere. Served reasonably quickly at the bar and our food once ordered arrived...More

1  Thank 350Gail350
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read! We're pleased you enjoyed your visit, and were able to appreciate the building we're lucky to have! We hope to see you again

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Went there a few times this week the lady boss is lovely always has time for you and very helpful food good and drinks great prices nice and clean large area a must if you in Colchester

Thank johnwatson1
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review! And I'll make sure the manager gets to see your comments. We're pleased you were able to enjoy our food and drinks deals, and hope you visit again

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

My favourite bar in Colchester, nice atmosphere, decor and the best selection of beers in Colchester. The only frustration is the time it takes to get served, it's a running joke amongst regulars now. Staff just walk around the bar aimlessly, stop for a chat...More

Thank Adam P
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the slow service, and this is something we are focusing on in the continued training of our staff. We're pleased you enjoy our beer selection though! And we hope to continue to be your favourite bar! Thank...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This is a Wetherspoons so you know what your getting,and this 1 does it aswell as any.Went on a Tuesday for the steak deal. I had an Angus and the Mrs a Barbecue chicken melt,both came out nice and hot and the steak perfectly cooked,you...More

Thank UmpleB
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for the lovely comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit and were able to make the most of our food deals! We hope you'll come and try one of our other club...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Been to many Weatherspoons all over the country. But must say this is the best one for decor and atmosphere keeping the old theatre theme the building used to be. And unusual for this chain plenty of staff behind the bar all pleasant and helpful....More

Thank gjbell
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, such positive comments are always a pleasure to read. We feel very lucky to have such a lovely building, and we're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope you will visit again soon

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Where to start... disinterested staff. Slow and poor service. Most staff have no idea what Ale or Lager is on offer, you have to walk them to the pump. Ran out of curries on Curry night, I ask you? Really! Just poor. Add in staff...More

1  Thank Keith v
Ella D, Public Relations Manager at Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologise that you did not enjoy your visit, and we have spoken to staff on the issues you've raised, we hope it won't happen again. Hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lunch
191 reviews
.05 km away
Noodle Zone
177 reviews
.10 km away
The Den at Twenty Three
84 reviews
.11 km away
Sorano’s
19 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mercury Theatre
764 reviews
.28 km away
Colchester Arts Centre
131 reviews
.20 km away
Headgate Theatre
58 reviews
.04 km away
Colchester's Natural History Museum
73 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Gog97
What are the opening times for people under the age of 18? I'd like to spend some time with some friends but am just a few months away from being legal so I intend to drink soft drinks only. Will I still be allowed entrance in the evening?
25 June 2015|
Answer
Response from p137 | Property representative |
Hi, In answer to your question Under 18's are allowed in the Pub until 21:30pm during your visit you will need to be accompanied by a responsible person over 18 and you will also need to consume a meal and soft drink of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 St. Johns Street, Colchester CO2 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 571003
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing