We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Flying Horse

$$ - $$$, British,
2 The Green | Clophill, Bedford MK45 4AD, England
+44 1525 860293
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch” (31 reviews)
“gastro pub” (11 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 The Green | Clophill, Bedford MK45 4AD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Was welcomed and friendly staff. Food was good but is a little on the high side for a pub but then we used to go there when it was a Beefeater back in the day. Very different these days. Good selection of beers and wines....More

Thank Bryn N Siânny W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It has been over two years since we have been . What a lovely evening Great food, atmosphere, lovely waiting staff and Gluten Free options galore x We were a party of 6 and each dish was served hot and with great portion sizes and...More

Thank Lozy092
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and the service our team provided you, See you soon, The Flying Horse Management

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked lunch for a group of 40 to celebrate an 80th birthday. What a great time we had, excellent food and service made a wonderful day. A huge Thank You to all of the staff who were brilliant!

Thank MrsGallo
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

You're very welcome Mrs.Gallo, it was a pleasure having you all in. The Flying Horse Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in here for late lunch, starter & mains for £12.50. Started of curried chicken very tasty. Mains was VERY salty dry Gammon with 2 non runny fried eggs not very nice chips & hard piece of pineapple , four hours later i am still...More

Thank Eatforlife1
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your gammon steak. Hopefully the rest of your party enjoyed their meals though. Your comments have been passed on to our kitchen team...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's been a long time since I've been to The Flying Horse but after reading reviews for pubs in the local area this one seemed like a great bet, and it did not let me down!! Warm, friendly pub area, with great winged back chairs....More

Thank Reviewer_Southsea
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your meal. We are just about to expand our already large range of gins introducing 5 more preimium options! We hope to see you here again soon giving them a try... Regards, The Flying Horse...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Initially i was a little put off as although the restaurant appeared to be well staffed there didn't seem to be a lot of activity at the tables. My concerns were confirmed when I saw the couple at the table across from us staring longingly...More

Thank Penney951
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here. We have taken your comments on board for future reference. We do, however, ask that any issues are raised with the manager on the day to give us the chance to rectify...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last night I met my friend for dinner - we hadn't booked a table but despite that we were met with happy friendly staff and seated immediately. The menu is fab - a little bit different from the usual pub grub and both of us...More

Thank Nic78C
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review Nic78C, We look forward to having you in again soon. The Flying Horse Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent wholesome food provided at affordable prices! Family orientated and brilliant service! Easy accessibility and very clean! Recommend! 😆

Thank R5903KSalanc
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review R5903KSalanc! We look forward to having you in again soon. The Flying Horse Management

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stopped here on our way home for dinner. I knew this restaurant years ago. Since then it has changed hands. It is no long a Beefeater, a Whitbread House, but is now owned by Mitchells and Butler. I could not find anyone to see...More

Thank Sarah B
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Sarah B, I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning despite your 4 star rating. As I explained on the night, our bar was unusually busy for a Sunday night but hoped that with our speedy and friendly service throughout the...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday evening as a family, expecting something special after looking at the menu and prices. Unfortunately we were disappointed. The drinks service was really slow - despite ordering our first drinks about 10 minutes before ordering starters, the starters arrived first!...More

Thank Naomi H
General Manager A, Manager at The Flying Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Naomi H, We are sorry to here that you did not enjoy your visit with us here on Sunday evening. This week we did experience a much busier bar than usual. Although our barman worked as fast as he could, unfortunately there was a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dog and Badger
173 reviews
.99 km away
Green Man La Stalla Restaurant
233 reviews
.05 km away
The Stone Jug
32 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Jolly Coopers, Wardhedges
24 reviews
2.45 km away
Houghton House
39 reviews
4.85 km away
The Olde Watermill Shopping Village
237 reviews
6.00 km away
Wrest Park
747 reviews
1.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kn0wwhatiwant
27 October 2016|
Answer
Response from FHManagement | Property representative |
Hello, Although we can't have dogs in the restaurant area, we do welcome dogs in the bar!
0
Votes
kn0wwhatiwant
27 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from jay b | Reviewed this property |
Don't think so
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 The Green | Clophill, Bedford MK45 4AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 860293
  • E-mail
Description
A quiet pub situated in the heart of Clophill. We cater for everybody; girls night out, family meal, business meeting, early dinner for the children, date night and so much more! You can find a wide range of dishes on our menu, ranging from seafood and meat dishes, to vegetarian and light bite options. We aim to please, so if you have any dietary requirements, please feel free to talk to a team member. Alongside our restaurant, you can find our fully stocked bar. We offer a wide range of beers and a world-wide selection of wines. Or if that doesn't take your fancy, sample one of our many gin's or whisky's. Don't forget to try one of our awesome cocktails! Hope to see you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing