We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Inn

) #70 of 338 Restaurants in Bedford $$ - $$$ , British,
2-4 Bedford Road | Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3HW, England
+44 1234 742318
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good16%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“liver” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2-4 Bedford Road | Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3HW, England
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for their steak special deal, two tender tasty steaks, chips, onion rings, tomato, mushroom and salad and a bottle of wine. All for £20 per couple. Good service, busy pub with great atmosphere. Happy to recommend it.

Thank Jackie L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub, with a beer garden. Good selection of beers and lagers, great place for a business meeting, village atmosphere and nice bar staff!

Thank Tony H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the Wooly again last night for a family dinner. Lovely food, my steak was perfect and the portions were large. Didn't manage to eat everything. Tiger bread was a real winner and really pleased to see the Prawn Pil Pil back on the menu....More

Thank Sparticus68
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We had an extremely nice meal here., the lamb chop was to due for, the only down side was the vegetarian menu was rather limited. Our waiter was so pleasant to us all and the whole evening was quite enjoyable

Thank Marg T
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Having eaten here a number of times (though not in the last year) we were keen to re-visit as previous meals had been good and the menu offered some quite different options i.e Ostrich and Wild Boar. What a let down! We were a party...More

3  Thank Donna P
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We were passing and looking for a cheap lunchtime meal and couldn't believe this place had 2 course meals for less than £9. 3 course meals were less than £12 but we couldn't manage a dessert as the starter and main were more than enough....More

Thank Madeleine H
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Having had the unfortunate experience of attending this venue a year ago with my wife (when we walked out due to sitting in there for an hour without any food arriving - and they weren't busy!!) we went back on yesterday (Sunday) and basically wasted...More

1  Thank Saturn853
Samuel0409, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi again Again my name is Clint Rogers but you already know that as it's the same individuals that wrote the previous review And again not consistent with the other 135 reviews There is something more to this and it's been investigated Just seems that...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017

After visiting this restaurant a year ago and walking out after waiting two hours between courses, our friends took us there again. What a waste of money it turned out to be. We went for Sunday lunch with a table booked for 1pm. When we...More

3  Thank Bexoxo
Samuel0409, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Good evening My name is Clint Rogers and I am the owner of this restuarant and pub I am very disappointed that you have not enjoyed you visit this weekend However you review is not consistent with the rest of my 135 reviews and unfortunately...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Our grand daughter was taking time out to explore Australia so we met up with her at the Woolpack for a chat and something to eat, and as usual the food and service was excellent, as on all of our visits to this pub restaurant....More

Thank Peter D
Reviewed 26 February 2017

popped in here on the off chance for a Sunday lunch. Good menu and a choice of traditional Sunday lunch or something off the menu. Just one girl serving but she was brilliant and attended to our every need despite being rushed off her feet...More

Thank alanp343
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Lion Wilstead
21 reviews
.05 km away
Lakeside Fish And Chips
25 reviews
1.44 km away
Portu Gallo's
29 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Birds of Prey Centre
637 reviews
2.32 km away
Kempston Outdoor Centre
11 reviews
5.61 km away
The Halfmoon, Kempston
6 reviews
5.46 km away
Priory Country Park
244 reviews
5.74 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Woolpack Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-4 Bedford Road | Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford
  • Phone Number: +44 1234 742318
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing