We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

India on the Green Restaurant

) #3 of 20 Restaurants in Ballater $$ - $$$ Indian, Asian,
9 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5QQ, Scotland
+44 1339 755701
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (21 reviews)
“poppadoms” (24 reviews)
“curry” (23 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5QQ, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 336 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

They have a mixed starter platter of seafood and of meat dishes which are very good but don't order popadums then the platter and expect to eat a main with nans and rice afterwards! Too much! Generous portions of mains to suit all tastes though...More

Thank Durris681
Reviewed 1 week ago

On a recent visit to Ballater we came across this restaurant and we are so delighted we did. We are lucky enough to live in a town with great Indian restaurants so are often disappointed when we visit an Indians during our holidays. Not the...More

Thank chrisandewe2016
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for sharing your experience we are glad your group have enjoyed our hospitality. YOUR SATISFACTION IS OUR SUCCESS RAJ (AWARD WINNING HEAD CHEF )

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff were very friendly and were able to offer us a table without booking. The menu is very different to any other Indian restaurant I have visited. It doesn't just offer the normal sort of menu but family favourites too that I had never...More

Thank Socialitelady
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for sharing your experience.as we pride ourselves for being the high end Indian restaurant our produce is sourced locally as possible due to this our award winning chef raj creats menu different than others.serving papadoms to customers with out consent is not our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really can't fault this place the fantastic service myself and my wife received and the quality of the food extremely flavoursome and excellently presented the little mous bouche and the little ardouves were an excellent touch the decor is extremely tastefully done and the...More

Thank David C
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for sharing your experience. We are glad you have enjoyed our experience look forward to be at your service soon. Raj (award winning head chef )

Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't receive a very warm welcome and this was followed by general poor & slow service, disappointing food which lacked taste and poorly presented, overall well below average and not nearly as good as neibouing Lochnagar RestaurantMore

Thank barmonte
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

GHOST REVIEW NUMBER 3! It's a shame when a neighbouring business goes to this extent to try and negatively impact India on the Green. Again there is no way of knowing who the customer is, what they ate and when they came from this generic...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very good Indian Restaurant, let there be no doubt about that. Some strange goings on though....sliced olives with poppadoms... no thanks! Amuse bouches are what everyone mentions in these reviews...they were OK but unexciting, lacking, for me at least, spice and maybe...More

Thank Knocknairn
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your beautiful review we are glad you have enjoyed our experience as mentioned draught beer we don't have sufficient space in the bar or storage if we can at some point we will add too.we look forward to be at your service...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of 8 of us arrived without booking. The place was fully booked. The guy in charge was really nice, offering us a table within 30 minutes so we had drinks while we waited. We have camped at the caravan park every Victoria week...More

Thank mrsmcp1
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your beautiful review we are glad your group have enjoyed our experience we are great full you are inviting people to come and visit us. Your satisfaction is our success.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We phoned and placed a takeaway order and was told 30 to 40 mins. I duly waited and went to collect having given the full 40 minutes only to be told that they didn't have an order for me! I asked the young man to...More

Thank HLT519
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for sharing your experience i am aware of the mismanagement of your takeaway order we apologise for this.should you visit our establishment again please ask for my self I will make sure you go out a happy lady. Raj (award winning head chef...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best indian ive had. Venison duck and chicken in chefs special remarkable. Good price clean and excerlent service. Most go if in area.

Thank Paul B
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your beautiful review we are glad you have enjoyed our experience. Your satisfaction is our success Raj (award winning head chef)

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Went for dinner last Sunday and wow this place serves amazing food, fresh and full of flavour. The manager was very friendly and kindly the chef gave us complimentary food which was so tasty. Thank you for a brilliant meal - you turned my boyfriend...More

Thank Redheadkatrina
Cat H, Owner at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for sharing your experience we are glad you have enjoyed your visit we are very happy to take your boyfriends journey from liking it to loving it. Your satisfaction is our success Raj (award winning head chef )

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lochnagar Indian Brasserie
523 reviews
.12 km away
Rothesay Rooms
104 reviews
.18 km away
The Bothy
379 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ballater Golf Club
75 reviews
.20 km away
Old Royal Station
109 reviews
.38 km away
Ballater VisitScotland iCentre
23 reviews
.19 km away
St Kentigern’s Church
5 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mdeduncan
7 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Abdul H |
Yes we can
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5QQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Ballater
  • Phone Number: +44 1339 755701
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing