We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowd Inn

Bowd Cross, Sidmouth EX10 0ND, England
+44 1395 513328
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (59 reviews)
“turkey” (48 reviews)
“parsnips” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bowd Cross, Sidmouth EX10 0ND, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 879 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This is probably my favorite place for a carvery, never had a bad one. Good choice of meats, good service and lovely environment. Definitely recommend if you’re looking for a good meal.

Thank sunbubble
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I’ve passed the Bowd numerous times and never thought about stopping here. But on this one occasion we did. The pub grub was good, staff friendly, and service super fast. We will return

Thank triciaxx
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Excellent we look forward to your return. Thank you.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Despite this pub being very popular I hadn't visited before. We had the carvery with soup and a some Christmas pud. The soup was great but the carvery was below par and felt like it was left over from the day before. Even the veg...More

Thank Johnmotoguzzi
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. As you say The Bowd is very popular both with locals and visitors, it is therefore very busy and our carvery does have a high turnover so it seems strange that you say the vegetables were dry. I wonder why...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another amazing carvery today,well worth a visit, staff are always welcoming , friendly and professional. Food is excellent, see you all again soon

Thank 985lyns
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy Xmas.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I eat here far more often than I review it, but (having just had a mediocre meal elsewhere at several times the price) I had to write again to say that the service and food never fails to be less than excellent. I dined here...More

Thank worthyone2
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What can we say ...other than a massive thank you to all of you. We really do appreciate the wonderful support that the people of the Sidmouth area have shown to The Bowd and we will do our very best to serve you all for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With very friendly attentive staff, and a fantastic fresh hot carvery the Bowd Inn is a favourite of ours, and is always busy with locals and visitors alike. You are able to choose items from the menu, but I can never resist their Carvery -...More

Thank S0n1a_13
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Excellent. Thank you for visiting again it is always nice to hear of people returning time after time. Parsnips are my favorite as well! Take care and thank you again for your kind comments .

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a party of 8 booked in for a celebration. A previous visit, albeit some time ago, was good. This time was a disappointment . In fairness , the meals from the menu were good. It was the carvery that really let things down,...More

Thank BlueJay53
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I do feel that your review is harsh, you table was checked and you did not bring anything to our attention. Why go away dissatisfied when a quiet word would have seen you leave very happy. You say what you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Early evening, feeling hungry and passing by, tempted in and so worthwhile. We had a decent pint of beer and the carvery off the menu. I had pork and beef with all the trimmings, my wife had turkey and lots of veg as is her...More

Thank Peter D
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Excellent!. Thank you, it is a wonderful testament to be supported so well by our locals. Thank you all so much.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff could not be more attentive or pleasant. They quietly check in with you that everything is to you satisfaction. You don;t get that very much any more these days. We opted for the Carvery but the menu looked fabulous - so many excellent...More

Thank Sally-anne K
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your balanced review. We do our very best to satisfy the tastes of one and all however this is challenging with a carvery. You can always ask for rare beef and if available from another joint then of course you can have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want a good family pub food restaurant then this is good choice if you are Sidmouth. However I don't think the carvery was the best. We had beef which was really tough.More

Thank Deborah R
Yvonne M, Manager at Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Than you for your review. I am sometimes amazed ! Why do you wait until you get home to tell us your beef was not to your liking, we are unable to change it then. If you are not happy with your food please tell...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Sidmouth
Woodlands Hotel
568 reviews
2.82 km away
Hunters Moon Hotel
304 reviews
2.95 km away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
97 reviews
3.06 km away
Royal Glen Hotel
163 reviews
3.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Walled Garden
86 reviews
.69 km away
Southern Cross Tea Rooms
73 reviews
2.59 km away
Rickshaw Express
7 reviews
2.59 km away
Neil's Restaurant
650 reviews
2.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Hill Llamas
116 reviews
2.52 km away
The Byes Riverside Park
162 reviews
2.71 km away
Connaught Gardens
794 reviews
3.30 km away
Sidmouth - Valley, Ridge and Jurassic Coast walk
99 reviews
3.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jan W
September 15, 2018|
Answer
Response from IzzyM904 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, only just seen this so I imagine you have already visited. I was a guest so unable to answer but hope you had a great meal.
0
Votes
paulinem260
February 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from cherriesfan_9 | Reviewed this property |
We were seated up in a raised area, although there are quite a number of tables at a lower level. Certainly you need to reserve a table on the lower level. incidently the loo can be reached by a gentle slope, however there... More
1
Vote
Lindsay G
September 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HALLY1648 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bowd Cross, Sidmouth EX10 0ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Sidmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 513328
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing