We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dukes

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AR, England
+44 1395 513320
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 563: English reviews
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We ate an evening meal at Dukes and were delighted with the service and the food was delicious. The wine was reasonably priced and the atmosphere was very good. We would highly recommend Dukes.

Helpful?
Thank BusPassHolders
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked late morning on the off chance of a table - able to book for a late lunch, All food ordered was excellent, Whole plaice was well cooked and good flavour, All chose different types of food from burgers, daily specials and favourites, none disappointed. All staff attentive and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank SidmouthP
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect location right on the beachside In sidmouth, food was fairly priced and good quality the fish pie was very tasty and you could tell it's all freshly cooked lovely atmosphere inside we visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank em0901
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped into dukes for a cuppa and some cake after most of the little cafes were closed, All 10 of us found a lovely window seat and ordered at the bar. I opted for a cream tea a bargain at £4.95 for two homemade scones and a pot of tea. The friendly barman prepared the smaller orders and then brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the scallops to start and Brixham gurnard was so tasty. the choice at breakfast was also impressive.

Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked 3 days in advance as I remembered how busy it was 3 years ago. It remains busy -my experience as before. Starters disappointing, part of my starter had been forgotten to be put on the plate and my partners arracnia balls lacked taste. He had fish and chips which was a good size and very fresh, my... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthlet60
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read you review, thank you for coming into Dukes again. We are always happy to swap meals or offer alternative dishes if you are not happy with your meal. We never like anyone leaving us disappointed. We would happily speak to you in person if you would like to get in touch. More 

Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

stopped by early saturday evening , as a couple. Table available, seated in the conservatory type front extension. Food was somewhat disappointing. Fish & Chips... the fish had not been cooked in hot enough fat, was soggie. Chips were good. large portions. Other meal was roast pork... the crackling was soft, chewy....not cracking as you would hope for ..hard &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read your review, our fish & chips is one of our best sellers and the most loved! Would like to speak to you in person if you would like to get in touch. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I turned up at the restaurant with no booking, but the staff managed to find us a table despite it being an obviously busy period. Food was excellend as was the service. We would definitely go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

8 April 2017 Oh dear It must be Easter and time to up the prices So expensive I visited a little village pub up the road and the difference in prices for beers and food was twice as much Add to that the 'matter of fact, curt staff' I will not come again

Helpful?
Thank Brubaker65
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

As a business that trades in the town all year round and supports many of the towns sports teams, town events & charities we are not a business that 'hikes up the prices' at Easter. We try to stock and support as many local producers as we can. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in on a Monday evening on spec. Place was buzzing but they found us a table. The food and the staff were excellent and so booked for the following evening which was again buzzing and just as good. Suggest you book to be sure of a table.

Helpful?
Thank pandshoggan

Travellers who viewed Dukes also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Dukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Sidmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 513320
Description
Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and Esplanade, Dukes is a family friendly inn offering relaxed dining, drinks and accommodation all year round.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dukes and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Porlock, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dukes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?