We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rice & Spice

$$ - $$$Indian, Asian,
2 Pavilion Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2JU, England
+44 1723 352823
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“thali” (126 reviews)
“curry” (78 reviews)
“rice” (50 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Pavilion Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2JU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Fantastic food in relaxed,comfy recently refurbished surroundings.....Served by friendly staff......a great dining experience.....definitely going to visit again.....Mark from Scarborough

Thank markcollier09
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had heard the Rice & Spice was a good Indian so thought we would give it a try. So pleased we did. My husband and I and another couple booked for a Friday evening. It was fairly quiet when we arrived but soon started to...More

Thank Sandie S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this restaurant as my husband and I both enjoy this type of food. Last time we stayed in Scarborough this restaurant was under refurbishment, it was recommended to us at the hotel thay we stayed that day. And I must say we weren't...More

Thank linda_b3604
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our second visit to Rice and Spice and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, the staff are polite, professional and efficient and the food very tasty, authentic and well presented. Drinks, poppadoms and starters were delivered in...More

Thank Helen L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Scarborough for a week and decided on an Indian take away one night. My husband popped in to pick up some menus and noticed how polite the staff were and how clean the restaurant was, so we decided to get our food...More

Thank Trip A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you like Indian food and you're visiting Scarborough then this is a must. Beautifully authentic food and excellent customer service, a great all round relaxing experience and very reasonably priced. PS Onion bhajees to die for! Debbie and Dave from Stafford.

Thank Debbsdave
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely welcoming restaurant this is and very knowledgeable about gluten free. In Scarborough for a few days and tried on our second night and found the service and food very good and will return again for our last 2 evenings, the staff were...More

Thank GlutenfreePaul
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Menu, Good decor, Good Food, friendly staff, everything you could want from a good Indian Restaurant. It is also really close to the Stephen Joseph Theatre, so a great place for a pre or post play dinner.

Thank yorksdave
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the food was simply superb , the tikka was neither dried out or under cooked , perfect balance of spices and very reasonably priced and filled my plate , the chicken dansak was beautiful , plenty of tasty chicken with ample textured sauce , overall...More

Thank johnjphillips
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a cheap restaurant with cheap food not a very inspring room but the food order arrived quickly and the staff are friendly enough.

Thank YVONNE E
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Eat Me Cafe
730 reviews
.22 km away
Cafe Fish
915 reviews
.09 km away
Mother Hubbard's
488 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stephen Joseph Theatre
530 reviews
.17 km away
Central Tramway Company
255 reviews
.37 km away
Rotunda Museum
230 reviews
.27 km away
Scarborough Art Gallery
91 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bas96413
23 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Geoff P | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately no there are about four steps down to it.
1
Vote
Fiona L
8 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mattwainxxxx | Reviewed this property |
No, but their chicken is excellent :)
0
Votes
cbdynamo
2 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Nur R |
Yes they are licensed. You can also pay with card as well as cash.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$16
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Pavilion Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2JU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 352823
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing