We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Cafe

39 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
07800720832
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good23%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (10 reviews)
“ham” (4 reviews)
“paninis” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
39 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Fairly standard seafront cafe. It was just about warm enough to sit outside. Cash only tili and no churros left which disappointed my draughtier. Service friendly, coffee Ok just joshing special.

3  Thank Gary B
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Hi Gary Thank you for your review, reading your review though we are not sure if this is based on the Waterfront Cafe Sandside, This is because we do except card payments. And we do not sell churros. Thank you again. Kind regards Jenna Burrows

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Don't get ripped off here go elsewhere not a patch on what it used to be give it a miss.Tea cakes were awful .

Thank patcarolan21
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi Patcarolan Sorry you didn't enjoy your teacake. Maybe next time come and see. us if you didn't enjoy your snack with us. Kind regards Jenna

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Firstly I think they were a bit cheeky - advertising everywhere (including on the broken cash machine next door!!) that they take card payments but this is not free. I can understand if it's under a certain amount but it's not and you're charged 50p...More

Thank Katie B
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Katie B. Thank you for your review and taking the time out to review my cafe. We are really glad you enjoyed our breakfast with us. Regarding the sign we have put on the broken machine outside ( that has been turned off for...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Incredibly rude staff and terrible customer service. Not a nice place at all. Do not bother visiting here.More

Thank JNMabbett
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear JNMabbett. Regarding your review, you came into my cafe used the toilet then left without buying anything, I simple told you the toilets are for paying customers only. If you feel I was been rude then I probably was because I am not a...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Well well well, where do I start? Me and my friends visited here one morning for a breakfast and a coffee, I ordered 2 breakfasts with scrambled egg instead of fried eggs and 2 lattes, which came to £20.. expensive in my eyes. We sat...More

9  Thank Lola290
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Lola290. Firstly I am really sorry it have taken so long to reply back to you have been away on holiday. I have invested what happened on the day you came in, my staffs version of events are slightly different with regarding the order....More

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our coffee's from the locally roastery, bay town coffee! The ham sandwich was tasty too, nice thick ham and plenty of piccalilli. It's nicely decorated too which makes a change from the usual greasy spoon cafes in Scarborough

Thank moggy17
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your time with us hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards Jenna

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We come many times a year to Scarborough and always found this cafe the nicest ...however today we was sorely disappointed!! We ordered two teas, bacon egg and sausage sandwich and toast and jam. Took 10 minutes for tea to come out and a further...More

1  Thank Nicholla G
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Nicholla G I do remember you coming in that day & bringing your sandwich back, I did indeed forget to put a egg on your sandwich I do apologise, I hope it wasn't to much trouble. We are sorry you had to wait a...More

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Whilst on an extended family retreat, we stopped off at the Waterfront Cafe for a drink and cake. There was 13 of us and due to the lovely weather we took advantage of sitting outside. We placed our order inside and were then served our...More

1  Thank Paul E
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Hi Paul L Firstly thank you for choosing Waterfront to come and have a refreshment with, we are really glad you enjoyed our coffee & cakes. We hope to see you again, this is our first year in business and these reviews mean so much...More

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Vist everyday they are the most friendliest of people the coffee top notch real friendly atmosphere we have got to know Jenna and josh really well the food is really Gd and reasonable prices compared to some on sea front they are very welcoming plus...More

Thank Julie Eastfield C
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hi Julie Thank you for your reviews, you and your dad mean so much to myself and josh supporting our business everyday! we look forward to see you in the morning :) We are glad you like our coffee! thank you for all your reviews....More

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Came Into the waterfront cafe today as we normally go else where but closed so we thought we would give this a try.! we wanted sit outside and enjoy the view so the lady Brought us out some cushions which was a nice of her,...More

Thank ejas40
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for your review, we are really glad you liked our cafe welcome anytime! Jenna and Josh

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harbour Bar
928 reviews
.23 km away
Harbour View Cafe
485 reviews
.20 km away
The Famous Fishpan
783 reviews
.33 km away
The King Richard III Restaurant
403 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scarborough Beach
2,564 reviews
.33 km away
Scarborough Castle
1,594 reviews
.37 km away
St Mary's Church, Scarborough
164 reviews
.32 km away
Diving Belle statue Scarborough
35 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Waterfront Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 39 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: 07800720832
Description
We have brought a bit of city to the seaside, we sell our own brand coffee specially made for us from the heavenly coffee company. We do a selection of Hot drinks/Yorkshire tea Tea pigs/ Hot chocolate with all the works. Homemade cakes classic scones served with homemade jam and clotted cream. We have menus on tables and on the walls/children menu's and the seaside classic's Whitby Scampi and fries. Sandwiches Grilled Sandwiches Snack treat fries/olives Homemade soup everyday Locally sourced Trotters Farm burgers Beef burger Locally sourced chicken fillet burgers Freshly made salads Veg options cold drinks selections including Fentimans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing