We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Star Inn

) #55 of 143 Restaurants in Newbury $$ - $$$ , British,
Newbury Road, Newbury RG20 4SY, England
+44 1635 296241
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“cheesecake” (6 reviews)
“pastry” (5 reviews)
“sea bass” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newbury Road, Newbury RG20 4SY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

My husband and I stopped for a meal late afternoon. Pub not at all buy, seated quickly and there we sat. Eventually we managed to attract a waitress's attention and gave our order. Husband had the Pork Belly Roast and I ordered the Steak and...More

Thank rockchick52
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, thanks for leaving us some feedback. I'm sorry that our food wasn't up to scratch and even worse that you didn't get a checkback, I will speak with the team as these are key to allow us to resolve any issues with the food...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

We went in for Sunday lunch,this was our first visit to this establisment, and as it transpired it will definitely be our last. first they had run out of the drink my child wanted. after we ordered the waitress came back to say they had...More

Thank fwbb
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, thank you for the feedback. Our pork is and is described on the menu as 'cured pork' which is why you may have found it salty, that's normal with cured meat. As for the beef, we cook it to a medium rare to cater...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

About an hour passed before food was seen. Everything took forever, waiting to be seated, drinks order. In fact demanded to order food before the waitress left again. Many items unavailable drink and food wise. Generally underwhelmed.More

Thank Charlotte A
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Charlotte thanks for the review. We were short of team by two that day due to factors beyond our control which did cause extra waiting times than normal and for our team to be over stretched during peak times but as I was in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been geocaching in the local area and came across The Star Inn on our travels. The food was really good, I particularly liked the veggie burger! Unlikely to go back as not locals but would recommend 😋

Thank curlybops
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hadn't been to The Star in a while but thought I'd give it a go with my family. We came in for a 6.30 meal and were served promptly and efficiently. The meal was superb - no complaints at all - except one of...More

3  Thank Amanda W
Reviewed 23 May 2017

After being past this pub on a regular basis I decided to go in for dinner one night with my partner. We were greeted and seated efficiently there was a delay in ordering our food when our drinks arrived I asked for a straw after...More

1  Thank Joanne D
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joanne thanks for the feedback. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy you Caesar salad though I'm surprised to read you had fish bones in it. I'm pleased your partner enjoyed their burger and hope your next visit is sooner rather later.

Reviewed 21 May 2017

It was my first visit to this pub and it will be my last. There was only one other couple in so it was very quiet. However I was ignored by the waitress and the waiter not much better. I waited 10 minutes and no...More

Thank bubbly-bubbles
Matthew D, General Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Hi there, thank you for getting in touch. I am very sorry for the way you were treated during your visit with us. I was away on my honeymoon during the time of your visit so it has taken a couple of days for me...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

had a 3 course meal I had a squid starter, steak and cheesecake for pudding was so yummy highly recommend the place and staff lovely.

Thank Taya S
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Taya for the lovely review. See you soon.

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Went for a family get together, food was very slow, waitress was not paying attention to any of the orders, orders were wrong in some cases. Think Vintage Inns need to rethink as this is getting as pad as popular farm in andover

1  Thank AlysonBradford
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alyson thanks for the valuable feedback. We're currently training up some new team members and they're getting better every single day :)

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We have visited the star many times recently. We have found the staff friendly and helpful, the food we have eaten there has always been hot and tasted great, good portions and value for money. We have always received quick band friendly service. The staff...More

Thank Emma h
General Manager A, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Emma thank you for the lovely words.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sasso
179 reviews
1.45 km away
Bel & The Dragon Restaurant
158 reviews
1.46 km away
CakeyPigg Originals
53 reviews
.64 km away
The Crown Inn Kingsclere
30 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Crown Kingsclere
33 reviews
1.13 km away
Highclere Castle
2,159 reviews
7.14 km away
Nature Discovery Centre
154 reviews
7.30 km away
The White Hart Inn
6 reviews
7.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Star Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$28
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newbury Road, Newbury RG20 4SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 296241
  • E-mail
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Star Inn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing