We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield

21 King Street | Packhorse Shopping Centre, Huddersfield HD1 2PZ, England
+44 1484 510511
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (17 reviews)
“soups” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
21 King Street | Packhorse Shopping Centre, Huddersfield HD1 2PZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were in Huddersfield with our 22 month old son and wanted to eat. We’d never been here before and didn’t read any reviews before going; Ive just read the reviews now whilst back at home and am really surprised. I agree that the price...More

Thank DrCPPM
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We appreciate your kind words so thank you taking the time to share them. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed dining with us and hope you have the same pleasant experience next time you visit. Your comments have been passed to the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for a birthday meal, sat 20 people on a long table with the back wall. Which is not convenient when we was all moving. The food was stone cold Chicken was raw The place was freezing Didn’t take drink orders Dirty Expensive Will...More

Thank Tabitha R
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your experience with us and I am sorry you did not enjoy dining. I would like to reassure you all comments received are passed back through our feedback system and used for staff training...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Going out midweek to an eat all you can buffet is not a great idea. My friends went here on a Sunday. They said the food was hot and fresh. Our experience was dry, cold, unpleasant smell and little worth taking. We did complain but...More

Thank Paul H
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you felt you didn't have a great experience with us. We pride ourselves on the quality of our dishes and the range of dishes we serve, so we're sorry you didn't feel you experienced this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely disgusted with the price on Sunday, not sufficiently displayed that it is £5 more expensive on a Sunday. Been in here many times and it is nose diving. Apart from it being more expensive on Sundays nearly all the food was cold. I don't...More

1  Thank Stuart W
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your feedback and concerns regarding your recent visit. We are disappointed to learn that you did not have a pleasant customer service experience. We will be sharing your comments with our staff, so that we can make the necessary adjustments for future diners....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed, poor selection empty dishes and dessert had gone off. Even waitress smelt it and took the desert away. Beer was off too and taken off final bill. Dreadful experience a few months ago but decided to try again but again am complaining. Very...More

1  Thank HELEN G
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear your comments and that your recent visit did not measure up to expectations. We strive to replenish dishes as quickly as possible and we pride ourselves on customer care, so your feedback has been passed onto the management team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love Chinese buffets. I like to try lots different tastes and textures. I enjoyed my meal apart from it wasn’t hot enough. Every dish apart from the soup was cool!!! The chicken and sweet corn soup had no chicken in it at all. I had...More

Thank Lynn G
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we have passed you comments onto the management team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant on a very regular basis since it's opening, with both family and friends. We have had many birthday celebrations here and fun social nights, and I have brought friends from all over the country to try the food. It saddens...More

Thank mandymoo2some
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

We're very sorry to hear your comments and that your recent visits have not measured up to expectations. We have passed your feedback on to the management team.

Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Very little choice with basics like noodles taking 10-15 minutes to replenish meaning that we ended up eating in shifts rather then the family meal we had hoped for. Disinterested staff who just kept saying "it will be 5 mins", no apology. When it came...More

Thank Badoo1975
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us, but thank you for your feedback which has been passed on to the management team.

Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the buffet. Not massive selection for the lunch menu. But what I had.very reasonably priced. Will return

1  Thank BoardingPass755618
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed dining with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Very nice visit went for evening buffet good choice of food friendly staff and very clean restaurant would recommend a visit would be back again

1  Thank stewboi
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - Huddersfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

We're so glad you had a great visit with us recently and were impressed with the choice of dishes that we had available, thank you for your lovely feedback

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Huddersfield
The Huddersfield Hotel
71 reviews
.20 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
849 reviews
.24 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
721 reviews
.49 km away
Cambridge Hotel
639 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Northern Tea House
164 reviews
.09 km away
Ugarit
156 reviews
.08 km away
Revolution
242 reviews
.08 km away
Cafe Mandalay
28 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lawrence Batley Theatre
111 reviews
.10 km away
Huddersfield Art Gallery
64 reviews
.15 km away
Huddersfield Town Hall
53 reviews
.23 km away
Heritage Quay
13 reviews
.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James M
February 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Judejuddles | Reviewed this property |
No it doesn't but I still would recommend the buffet
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Saturday
5:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21 King Street | Packhorse Shopping Centre, Huddersfield HD1 2PZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Huddersfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1484 510511
  • E-mail
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing