We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lime Tree

24 St. Mary Street | Monmouth, Chepstow NP16 5EU, Wales
+44 1291 620959
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (22 reviews)
“sandwiches” (8 reviews)
“salmon” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 St. Mary Street | Monmouth, Chepstow NP16 5EU, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely cafe-bar in central position. Good atmosphere, run by a great young and helpful team. Food and drinks we had were all excellent. The gin and tonics from the decent range of gins were very well made and very good indeed.

1  Thank Andrew B
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon. Kindest Regards, The Limetree

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to the Lime Tree for lunch after a slightly soggy visit to the Castle. The older kids were very happy with their all day breakfasts (excellent value at around £7) and our 4 year old had the pancakes. I had Nachos with pulled...More

Thank VLeeGorton
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon. Kindest Regards, The Limetree

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good overall spread of tastes on the menu, reasonable prices except a glass of wine will hit you nearly a fiver. Not massive portions, but sufficient for a lunch time. Staff friendly but appeared stressed with too many orders although not even half full. Overall...More

Thank Benjiponting
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

it is a nice bistro typical of brains pubs but it is the top side of brains service was great the menu a little confusing but ok clean but a little dark i love the coffee choice, my food was nice as it was only...More

Thank sarah1066newport
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the lime tree this afternoon as I had some time to kill. I decided to order food from the menu. I decided on a posh fish finger sandwich at£7.50. Well what a disappointment. I opted for the side salad option to accompanying. The...More

Thank alli207
LimeTreeCafeBar, Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We take customer feedback, both good and bad seriously. Please give me an email on limetree@sabrain.com and we can discuss the matter further. Kind regards, The Lime Tree

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

popped in for after dinner drinks , enjoyed wine, desserts and the life music on offer, nice vibes, friendly venue, and enjoyed a fab evening.

Thank Rick L
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok service. Food was burnt and/or very dry. Don't recommend eating a meal here. Maybe better for tea and cakes?

Thank cmjhl
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We take customer feedback, both good and bad seriously. Please give me an email on limetree@sabrain.com and we can discuss the matter further.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great beers, price wise it's slightly high but that's what they're going for. There's a weatherspoons opposite if you want a cheaper option. Great menu and good service

Thank mcdandyandy
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with grandchildren for lunch. Order taken before told card machine not working so had to pay in cash. Fortunately had enough! Then waited nearly an hour before unexciting, limp food arrived! Staff very apologetic but totally unacceptable waiting time for simple burger and chips....More

Thank Anthea B
LimeTreeCafeBar, Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. We take feedback positive and negative very seriously, if you have any further questions you can email us at limetree@sabarin.com to review the following issues more. Kind Regards, The Limetree

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sat outside on a cracking summer evening. Tapas is lovely. Can get busy. Friendly staff. Would use again

1  Thank jeepeyStu
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Tuns
30 reviews
.24 km away
Firstclass Cafe
155 reviews
.20 km away
Shangri-La Restaurant
262 reviews
.06 km away
Mythos Meze Bar & Restaurant
253 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chepstow Castle
809 reviews
.21 km away
Chepstow Museum
105 reviews
.29 km away
The Priory and Parish Church of St. Mary
18 reviews
.48 km away
Chepstow Port Wall
5 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lime Tree staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 23:00
Monday
08:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 23:00
Thursday
08:30 - 23:00
Friday
08:30 - 00:00
Saturday
08:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 St. Mary Street | Monmouth, Chepstow NP16 5EU, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Chepstow
  • Phone Number: +44 1291 620959
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing