We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barley Mow

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Warwick Road, Banbury OX16 1SS, England
+44 1295 269758
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 09:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 21:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I meet a group of friend hear for a meal and a social gathering. The place was heaving with drinkers but the restaurant area was relatively quite. We ordered our food and i opted for my fall back option of gammon and chips as normally this cannot be ruined. Well there's a first for everything. tough wasn't the word for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Did you get a chance to inform a member of staff at the time of your visit about the food and drink quality? We do strive for every guest to leave happy and would have been happy to rectify any issues... More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great meal here and they accommodated us very well given that some of our party cancelled last minute. They put a balloon on the table that we dropped off which we was very grateful of. The food was brilliant and service was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Ash365
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We aim to accommodate everyone to the highest standard. Please sign up to our website for great deals and offers and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been at The Barley Mow on Fridays over the past few weeks. The staff were very kind and helpful. Some of our students are in wheel chairs and we were helped a lot to find space for all our students to be together. The food came quick after ordering. All meals were hot when it came to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 675dean
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us! we do try and cater for all parties and I'm glad this was carried out on your visit! please sign up to our website for great deals and offers and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there for lunch today, the burgers were tasteless as was the bacon in them, in fact id like to thank Heinz because if I hadn't put some ketchup on my plate I wouldn't have tasted anything, even though the meals were cooked fresh everything was lukewarm except for the onion rings from my burger which were forgotten and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Not sure what happened regarding the tasteless burgers as we get many compliments on our food especially the burgers. I will investigate with my team further as to what happened. I do hope you rethink visiting us again as I'm positive you will enjoy any further visits. Kind regards More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dropped in for a cheap lunch - responding to the road side chalk boards , and as a result of my Credit Card giving me 15% cash back . Average chain pub - relatively empty on a weekday lunch . Had the Mixed Grill and the Gammon - couldn't really go wrong for the price . Opted for dessert -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Unfortunately that is our spec for the sticky toffee pudding we just feel you wouldn't get enough yummy custard if we put it in a jug. There are loads of delicious puddings available if that didn't suit your taste! We do hope to see you again. Kind regards More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All microwave meals which are still somehow cold when they are presented to you. Mine even had hair in it which the manager said "So what's the problem?" when I complained about it. Avoid, avoid, avoid

Helpful?
Thank SLW1986
General Manager A, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Can you send some more details of your visit so I can investigate this fully. Kind regards More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to lunch with a friend yesterday & was very happily surprised to find my steak cooked as I asked, normally I tell you but they all come out well done. So thank you for my nice Juciy steak we will be back soon & I hope it's just as good.

Helpful?
Thank Carol7975
General Manager A, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We pride ourselves in our steaks so we are extremely happy that you received your steak just how you like it! Don't forget to sign up to website for great deals and vouchers! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

After paying a deposit of £80 for a booking for my Father's wake, and watch the member of staff write it in the diary, we were told everything would be okay for the day of the Funeral. When the funeral party arrived at the Barley Mow we were met by a hostile Lady called Yvette who was adamant that no... More 

Helpful?
Thank j493ward
General Manager A, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. This has been sent to head office complaints department to deal with this further. Thank you for your patience. More 

Adderbury, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

it was ok has gone down hill since i last went. very noisy. the food portions were smaller than i remembered and my friends peas could hardly been seen. i had download a voucher which helped.

Helpful?
Thank bigfrogsgo
General Manager A, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Can we ask in what way was the pub very noisy? e.g customers or music etc? Remember to check regularly for the deals and vouchers there is some great savings to be had! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This pub is such a dive. The manageress is very hostile and rude. You can hear her shouting at the staff all the time. Takes ages to get served and the food is hit and miss. Decor needs updating and the toilets always smell of sewage and never any toilet roll. Nobody seems to glass collect and the place always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dannibanbury
Yvette R, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us. I would hate to think that the manageress appears rude and very hostile because we welcome all customers to enjoy our food and drinks and feel welcomed whilst they do so. I can assure you that the staff would not be being shouted at because a happy work force... More 

Travellers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
21:00 - 00:00
Saturday
21:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warwick Road, Banbury OX16 1SS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1295 269758

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Barley Mow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?