We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Maxsim Tapas Restaurant

87 Darlington Street, Wolverhampton WV1 4EX, England
+44 1902 428999
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (98 reviews)
“quesadilla” (8 reviews)
“crab cakes” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Cafe, Spanish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
87 Darlington Street, Wolverhampton WV1 4EX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Spending a weekend in Wolverhampton and looking for a reasonable Saturday night meal. Trusting Tripadvisor as always, we telephoned for a short notice booking. Delighted they squeezed us in. Excellent range of Tapas which they were more than happy to adjust to meet dietary requirements....More

Thank Ray C
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We had a lovely evening here on Friday. The hosts are very welcoming and the 5 tapas offer was more than sufficient for 2 people. It was great to see the place so well supported as every table was taken whilst we were there. Contrary...More

3  Thank Neil005
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The whole experience -- once again -- was faultless. 🎉 I took my dad, whose standards are pretty high, and not only did he have trouble choosing from what was an extensive menu, he loved all of the dishes presented. The desserts were also unmissable...More

Thank Tom W
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

There was 8 of us for dinner. 1st time for all of us even though Maxsims has been here for years. The menu was extensive and we all had 3 dishes each. All the food was cooked fresh and we were not worried who's came...More

1  Thank Nighty1503
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Max and Sim are great hosts, the tapas tastes amazing, and this is a great little venue, whether as a couple or a larger party. The outdoor area makes you feel like you could be in the Mediterranean ! Love this place and love the...More

Thank Ann190762
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

My fiance and I went for a meal here on a Friday night and it was awesome! The hostess was lovely, very friendly and welcoming. To top it off, she, Luke the waitress was Spanish, which adds to the general feel of the place. We...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This place has great friendly service and a huge selection of dishes. The food is generally very good. I have several Spanish friends and have much experience with Spanish food and I can tell you that the dishes here are not authentic if you are...More

1  Thank mikejthomas68
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The 5 tapas dishes for £25 is quite good value. At just 12.50 per person, it is quite a lot of food. 4 tapas dishes would definitely have sufficed though and would have been cheaper. The fact that you are allowed to bring your own...More

2  Thank Eibhlin N
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Really nice people and good service, unfortunately really poor food. Tasteless tapas, with very poor presentation. Calamari was not fresh, like squid flavoured onion rings from frozen, not good. Quesadilla wedges were tortillas filled with sliced ham out of a packet. Average, at best. Chicken...More

1  Thank Dan L
alexlapadat, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Maxsim Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We're sorry you didn't like the food, however we can always replace dishes that our customers are not keen on, without an extra charge, as long as you tell us which dish you want replaced....More

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

A real gem in the heart of a failing city. Wolverhampton unfortunately has very little to offer. This is in my opinion the best food in the town. Well done and thank you all.

1  Thank Tom B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rosso e nero Wolverhampton
305 reviews
.07 km away
Bodrum Delight
40 reviews
.16 km away
Made in Thai
291 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Banks's Park Brewery
114 reviews
.46 km away
Grand Theatre
514 reviews
.47 km away
Wolverhampton Art Gallery
224 reviews
.28 km away
St Peter's Church
63 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jessv1983
19 February 2016|
Answer
Response from alexlapadat | Property representative |
That's available all the time for bookings thanks for asking x
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$2 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 87 Darlington Street, Wolverhampton WV1 4EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Wolverhampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1902 428999
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing