We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephants Nest Inn

Horndon | Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9NQ, England
+44 1822 810273
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Horndon | Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9NQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to start your walk, follow the guide along the river on to the moor and back, then enjoy the culinary delights of the pub. Excellent choice both at lunch and dinner, good food, good beer pleasant atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Thank David W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited with my family on Mothering Sunday-always a busy day for any pub/restaurant. We were greeted by 2 smiling bar staff, we were a little early for our table & were offered a drink whilst our table was gotten ready. Perfect & not a...More

Thank Razzle01
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I like the Elephants Nest as it is a free house and sells a good selection of cask ales. Cosy bar atmosphere and roasting real fires. There is a good selection of fayre on the menu, although some items were not available at the time....More

Thank DumnoniaReviver
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thanks for the review, we use the highest quality ingredients which are all sourced locally if possible. The Steaks are from the butchers in Tavistock (palmers) and again are usually very high quality so many apologies if you had a chewy one, this unfortunately does...More

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Now this is a place that we can recommend without reservation. Only book a table as it is popular. the fact that this Inn is always busy speaks for itself, it is well off the beaten track on the edge of Dartmoor so good for...More

Thank She9753
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

We always have a sirloin of beef and one other meat for a Sunday roast (this week lamb). Glad to hear you had a nice visit and thanks for the review

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

A lovely old pub. Nice gardens.. great food..big tasty portions and always a good range of 'specials' on the board and big open fires. Great in the summer too with lots a garden seating.

Thank Nigel L
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for the review. Hope you visit again.

Reviewed 27 February 2018

I cannot, CANNOT understand negative reviews of this lovely, atmospheric pub - unless they reflect the reviewers. Yes, food is not cheap but it is superb. Sunday roasts in particular are outstanding. In three visits in the past twelve months I - and my dog...More

Thank James_PZ9954GM
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thanks for the review, it’s always great to hear positive feedback!

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We went to the inn for a friends birthday and I was very disappointed with both the service and quality of the food. The wine glasses arrived and we had to send 2 back as they were dirty.. we had to order food at the...More

1  Thank CurlyWirly2014
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Used to go to this old fashioned pub when we were living in the area as it has a large garden and used to have horses in the back field for the children to stroke while we enjoyed our coffees so decided to drive down...More

3  Thank Jon R
Reviewed 15 January 2018

I was very excited about returning to The Elephant's Nest. However, it was not as I remember it. It is a beautiful little inn but there were a number of things which I felt could have been better. It is very expensive so, for example...More

Thank kernowgirl17
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

We always serve 3 types of seasonal vegetables with each dish that is required to have veg, currently butternut squash, red cabbage and cavelo nero/ curly kale. Traditionally Sausage and mash doesn’t come with veg, but if you had asked we could have brought out...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We have been to this pub every time we holiday in the area (usually 4 times per year) and you will see from my previous reviews we have never had anything but praise for this country pub. After our last visit in September, we were...More

Thank Sophie B
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We apologise completely and will review the size of our dishes. The king prawns have been on the menu for many years and have always been served in this fashion but unfortunately the cost of fresh prawns has increased. The service clearly was not good...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Tavistock
The Queen's Head Hotel
195 reviews
6.69 km away
The Bedford Hotel
548 reviews
6.69 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
246 reviews
7.09 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
376 reviews
7.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peter Tavy Inn
24 reviews
2.28 km away
Peter Tavy Inn
597 reviews
2.29 km away
The Dartmoor Inn Restaurant
299 reviews
5.26 km away
Dartmoor Inn
72 reviews
5.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cholwell Riding Stables
157 reviews
1.62 km away
Lydford Gorge
777 reviews
4.47 km away
St Michael de Rupe Church
103 reviews
4.65 km away
Tavistock Pannier Market
420 reviews
6.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jannerbloke
9 January 2016|
Answer
Response from dartmoorman | Property representative |
Yes we have ramps we use over the stairs, just let us know. And yes both children and dogs are welcome. Look forward to seeing you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Horndon | Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Tavistock
  • Phone Number: +44 1822 810273
  • E-mail
Description
We pride ourselves on producing the highest quality food from the finest ingredients - beef, from local herds that has had a minimum of 21 days maturing; lamb and pork also from local farms; fish that is delivered fresh - never frozen - from St Ives daily; marvellous and varied English cheeses from Tavistock and fruit and vegetables from Helston. All our food is prepared and cooked from these fresh ingredients in our kitchen; no bought-in already prepared frozen food is ever used. Our menu and specials are ever changing and offer a wide selection to choose from including a number of vegetarian dishes. On Sunday lunchtimes we have a choice of two roasts (one of which is always sirloin of South Devon beef), steak and kidney pudding, haddock and chips together with a selection of dishes from the specials board.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing