We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

No55

55 Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8JE, England
+44 7484 064209
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (8 reviews)
“fish pie” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
55 Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8JE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Delicious food and a great atmosphere. Excellent customer service, definitely a restaurant to visit and recommend to eat here.

Thank Karla C
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was our first night back in Salcombe. The service was very friendly and efficient. The food was most of a high standard. The portion sizes varied from bite sized to very large with the puddings, which did not come up to the standards of...More

Thank Fairliebrae
Reviewed 6 days ago

Such a disappointment! I chose mussels for a starter which were warm and I was only served around 10, 2 of which were closed, alongside 2 bits of soggy bacon. The main was monkfish with a chorizo stew. The new potatoes were old and cold...More

Thank Lizzie H
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Lizzie H It's disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit and even more so that you didn't mention this when being asked 'if everything was ok'? If you had given any of our staff the slightest indication that there was an...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We saved this restaurant for the last night of our holiday on Friday 14th July, in hindsight this was a bad thing to do, I chose the whisky cured Salmon with pickled Blackberry, beetroot purée and root crisps to start followed by a baked hake...More

Thank 261072Paul
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Paul I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to No55. Looking at the review you both chose from our daily specials board, these do change on a daily basis and on that particular Friday they were extremely popular. While...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited as a group of 8 which they were happy to serve. The staff are friendly and pleasant. As well as being prompt the food was delicious. The paella was a little bit of a disappointment but still tasty, a friend of mine had...More

Thank Natalie E
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Natalie E We are so glad that your group of 8 enjoyed your recent visit and found our staff friendly and pleasant and the food 'Delicious'. I'll pass on the comments to our team at No55. Many Thanks Jane and Phil and the team...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We finally got organised to book a table as we usually find it fully booked if we go on spec during the summer season. We greatly enjoyed the food and wine and the friendly service. Of course you pay the Salcombe premium as in all...More

Thank Chris B
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Chris Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad that you booked in advance and chose to return 3 nights in the same week. We very much look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall the experience was lovely, you can't fault the great service and good atmosphere. Regarding the food, we feel that it was slightly over priced. We had the paella and prawn linguine, which was nice! Just didn't wow us for the price you pay. (Paella...More

Thank alicegrannie
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi alicegrannie It's great to know that you enjoyed the good atmosphere of our restaurant and the excellent service, rest assured we do pride ourselves on providing value for money. Don't forget to call in when you are next in the area. Best Regards Jane...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a little bit dissappointed with this restaurant to be honest. We were expecting better but it failed to live up to our expectations. The bream came initially undercooked and the tomato/chorizo stew was not great along with the potatoes which were clearly not...More

1  Thank David Y
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear David I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit, our food is all fresh and cooked to order. We look forward to welcoming you when you are next in the area. Many Thanks Jane & Phil and the team at...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited without checking menu and unfortunately the vegetarian dish was risotto which my wife dies not like. Asked if they would do something else and they made her a lovely pasta dish and when she asked for lots of garlic and chilli and unlike most...More

Thank Scott G
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Scott G Thanks for your review, we do try to cater for customers needs and try our utmost to deliver what's requested, we were pleased that the Pasta dish was enjoyed. I do however find it difficult to understand why you only found our...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Great food, excellent service, reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend as worth a repeat visit. Food tasted great and was freshly made, came out exactly as ordered.More

Thank TheHoff1980
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hi TheHoff1980 Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit and we are so glad that you enjoyed our food and found our service to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Best Regards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Victoria Inn
1,533 reviews
.11 km away
The Crab Shed
437 reviews
.47 km away
The Fortescue Inn
312 reviews
.23 km away
dickandwills
478 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Salcombe Distilling Company
26 reviews
.36 km away
East Portlemouth & Gara Rock Trail
31 reviews
.34 km away
Salcombe Tourist Information Centre
59 reviews
.19 km away
SALCOMBE MARITIME MUSEUM
24 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stuart A
6 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Phil G | Property representative |
Morning Stuart We do allow dogs in, I think we are the only dog friendly restaurant in the area. Best Regards Phil
0
Votes
Anna K
12 April 2015|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi any time as its still a busy time of the year. Many thanks Kind regard Cheryl No55 salcombe
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 23:00
Monday
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Salcombe
  • Phone Number: +44 7484 064209
  • E-mail
Description
Funky relaxing atmosphere with a modern twist to the decoration colours and fixtures, a welcome warm place to come and eat relax and have a good experience.
Open for Dinner with well behaved dogs welcome...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing