We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
+44 1989 760920
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We ended up in Ross on Wye as I messed up trying to get to the butterfly farm in Symons yat. I found this place on Google maps. We got seats at the back of the restaurant and our party had different items on the menu. Everyone enjoyed their mains. My mother in law didn't rate the Apple crumble which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for early evening meal (17:45). Bbq chicken melt for spouse and chicken burger fo me. Free soft drinks with each meal; 2 ginger beers. Airy surroundings and food was good could have been very good if it was hotter. Staff friendly and courteous.

Helpful?
Thank Millboy
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Used the new app to order food and drinks to the table. Ordered three filter coffees but the receipt only showed two (have worked out since charged for three) so my husband went to the bar and bought his filter coffee. Then the drinks arrived and it included all three coffees. I pointed out the issues with the app (it... More 

Helpful?
Thank princessbewok
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi princessbewok, i'm sorry to here about the problems you've had with our app, i have reviewed this and hopefully this doesn't happen again to you or anyone else for that matter. the app seems to be working correctly now and haven't had any problems since. We put the refill cups behind the bar at times to fill them back... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Following on from my poor visit in December i received an invitation to return to the mail rooms with my partner for a complimentary meal to show the service we received was not of usual standard. On returning today I'm pleased to say that the service and food were exactly what you'd expect from wetherspoons cheap (although it was free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, I'm more than pleased to see that you've enjoyed your visit back with us and gave us a chance to show you what we can do, we are looking forward to hopefully seeing you in the near future. Regards Duty Manager, Chris More 

newport gwent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Where do I start. My husband and I called in here in the way home from lake district holiday. We ordered fish and chips. It was brought out by one of the kitchen workers ..... his uniform was very dirty but I did think maybe as they were busy he was trying to help by getting good out. The cutlery... More 

Helpful?
Thank babeingwent
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi babeingwent i'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience at the mail rooms. clearly we did not get it right, We do review every bit of feedback on here and use it to help us improve, i will pass this on to my team and investigate the matter further to prevent this from happening again in... More 

Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Visit on steak night, had a FANTASIC rump steak with a massive salad, steak was very well cooked just to my liking, lovely staff and great value for money. Steak and a drink for under £10

Helpful?
Thank mrsbake1
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi mrsbake1 Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, i'm really happy to hear that you've enjoyed your visit to our steak club hopefully see you again soon regards duty manager, chris More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

This is a standard spoons that is no different to any other. You always seem to have to wait ages to get served as they never have enough staff on though. The prices have slowly gone up over the years and it hasn't got the same appeal as when the branch started to open in every town. The place seems... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, your feedback is valuable to helping us understand customers views on their visits and I have passed on your feedback to the team, We do review every bit of feedback on here and use it to help us improve, hope to see you... More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Just popped in for a spot of lunch and a drink. Excellent value, very clean friendly and helpful staff. It is what it is, a Spoons, but better than some I have visited.

Helpful?
Thank Kelvin E
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi kelvin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, i'm delighted to see you've had a pleasant visit and hope too see you again! regards duty manager, chris More 

bexill-on- sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Very disappointed with the three breakfasts we ordered. Food luke warm, plates cold and no tea as "the water not hot enough yet" Couple of the eggs looked inedible. We asked and got a refund and staff very apologetic but had breakfast elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank norman p
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi norman p Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, your feedback is valuable to helping us understand customers views on their visits and I have passed on your feedback to the team, and i'm sorry we didn't get this right during your visit for you. We do review every bit of... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Visited this pub recently and it was very friendly, pleasant and for it not to be a 'locals local' was a bonus. We didn't eat but the there were a couple ales which were in good condition.

Helpful?
Thank George B
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi George, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, your feedback is valuable to us and i'm really happy to see you've enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again in the near future! Regards duty manager, chris More 

Travellers who viewed The Mail Rooms also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Mail Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 760920

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mail Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?