We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Penny Farthing Inn

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Aston Crews, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7LW, England
+44 1989 750366
Tue - Fri 12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 69: English reviews
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Welcome on arrival could be better, we said we had a table booked, bar was very noisy and difficult to get service had to ask to be shown to our table. From then on things improved our waitress was very helpful and gave us excellent service. Food was good, my husband was disappointed custard wasn't available with his dessert and... More 

Thank Jean D
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Penny Farthing has been refurbished beautifully and we had a warm welcome on arrival. We enjoyed the mushroom Wellington and the steak and ale pie served with lovely veg on hot plates, and the coffee was great. The waiting staff were all friendly. I'll definitely be back.

Thank catkin310
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here for Sunday dinner after a weekend staying in Lea with friends and family. The pub is beautiful inside and the food was lovely. The roast dinners were cooked beautifully and came with lots of veg. I would definitely recommend.

Thank novicetravelqueen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This resurant was not great. Service was appauling. Rushed us out even though there were many people still eating their meal. Starters and desserts OK but mains were poor. Many better places to eat in the area.

1 Thank Helen B
Management response:

Hi can you tell me when you were in the restaurant as we have a 82 seater restaurant and have never rushed anyone out, also can you tell me the main courses you had and what was wrong with them . Also what was wrong with the service Regards Paul More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us drove to the Penny farthing on a cold wet November night, not knowing what to expect and had said that this was quite a test considering that it was our first visit since it re-opened and (for us) it's off the beaten track. One of our group is a retired chef with high standards. We needn't have... More 

1 Thank Maggotty
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been working on our smallholding this morning and were very cold, but the pub was lovely and warm when we got there about 1.45pm. Sadly it wasn't very full but it did turn out that there was a local "A" list celeb there with his family and the landlord was very discrete about this. We have known this... More 

Thank Francine B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We came in for a Sunday lunch as we were passing through Newent and saw the good reviews here. We are so pleased that we did! One of the best Sunday lunches I've eaten out in a long time, and in terms of value for money definitely in the top two. The portion was generous, roast beef cooked so it... More 

1 Thank Hannah R
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

A cosy environment, the log fire crackling in the background, friendly welcome, delicious sandwich and fresh glass wine, what more could you ask for on a misty autumn afternoon. Well worth a visit.

Thank Karen B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Excellent meal with friends. I'm pleased the penny is back open and as good as it was about 4 years ago. Staff were friendly and the service very good. Will definitely be going back.

Thank 3Steve-n999
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

We went on a weekday evening with a group of friends on a recommendation. The pub has been completely refurbished to a high standard. The staff were welcoming. We had drinks in the bar before going to our table. The restaurant was almost empty. The service was leisurely but that was no problem as we were intending to linger. The... More 

Thank chriswood2015

Travellers who viewed The Penny Farthing Inn also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Weston under Penyard, Ross-on-Wye

Been to The Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$19
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aston Crews, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7LW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 750366
We are located in the beautiful small village of Aston Crews, offering a freshly cooked seasonal menu filled with local ingredients. The Penny has some exceptional views of the Black Mountains and the Malvern hills from the beer garden (with children's play area).

We aim to showcase the exceptional local produce and serve local ales and spirits as well as keeping as much of ingredients as local as possible. We also have a large selection of whisky from all over the world.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Penny Farthing Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Penny Farthing Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?