We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Pheasant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Plumley Moor Road | Plumley, Knutsford WA16 9RX, England
+441565722261
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 346: English reviews
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have visited 4 times since the refurbishment, the food has always been high quality and the staff helpful, the outside area is fantastic and has a great play area for children to enjoy

Helpful?
Thank natalie m
Knutsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from a superb Easter lunch with the family. We were looked after very well indeed from start to finish by all the staff we encountered. They were certainly smiling and cheerful. I had booked a table suitable for my brother's wheelchair. We were shown through to the table and it was perfect for my brother. He was centrally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Management response:

Good afternoon Julie W Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review, and its pleasing to hear you had a superb family lunch. The front of house team will be so happy to hear about your comments at our next team meeting, especially Darryl who you mention in your review. Please come again soon for another family meal... More 

Manchester UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently refurbished country pub; general design and look comes across more as corporate brewery rather than independent 'artisan' in style and ambience (ive no idea on the actual ownership/investment). None the less what it lacks in authenticity it makes up for in being a clean, well furnished and comfortable pub/restaurant. Dog (and walker) friendly. We ate in the pub section.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ITTS
Management response:

Good afternoon ITTS Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review, I must admit our refurbishment does give that comfortable and relaxing feel. We are a family owned business and the cask ale you mentioned is brewed by the family in Manchester which I must admit is a great pint. I will pass on your comments to... More 

cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Called in on off chance sat in the bar area and had delicious meal was lovely atmosphere quite busy and cosy by the open fire x

Helpful?
1 Thank AB_Cheshire
Management response:

Good afternoon AB_Cheshire Thank you for a great 5 start review Its pleasing to hear you enjoyed your meal here with such a lovely atmosphere. Our 4 fires are cosy throughout our pub & restaurant, and are so popular with our guests. We do hope to see you again in the near future Regards Phil More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We actually found this down to a total whim, we were just driving and came across the road sign, so glad we took a chance and enjoyed a lovely meal, served by attentive staff, in lovely surroundings...If we are in the area again, we wouldn't hesitate to call in again

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
Management response:

Good afternoon Amy J Thank you for such a lovely review We are so pleased you found us by pure chance, and you had a lovely meal served by our attentive team. I must admit we are a hidden gem with fantastic views and surroundings. I do hope your in the area again soon and come back to visit us... More 

Killcare, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were 17 family and friends celebrating birthdays and reunion and we had a great time. Good wines and beers and great food. We visited in spring so the wood fires were not on but in winter it would be cosy. Good value all round and attentive service. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
Management response:

good afternoon Paul N Thank you for your review, and I'm so pleased you and your family enjoyed your Birthdays & reunions. Our fires in the winter are mezmorizing, and we do have 4 of them around the bar & restaurant which are very popular with our guests. I will pass on to our front of house team your nice... More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back! The food was fantastic and very reasonably price - we chose the set menu starters were lovely, mains great .. Yorkshire puddings huge! They offer a lunch menu 12 -5pm which we'll try in the week. The staff were friendly, helpful and well informed. One not to miss

Helpful?
1 Thank P0ppy32
Management response:

good afternoon P0ppy32 Thank you for a lovely 5 star review of the Golden Pheasant I will pass on your nice comments to our team who love to hear great feedback, and our chefs will enjoy your comments with regards to our huge homemade Yorkshire puddings, they do create a great wow with our guests. Please do some and try... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The 3 times I have been here the food has been excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and chilled. There is a good choice of menu for all tastes and level of hunger. Well recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank BigmacCheshire
Management response:

Good afternoon BigmacCheshire Thank you for a great review, and so pleased your last 3 visits have been excellent. Our team love to hear great feedback like yours, which we discuss every team meeting. We do hope to see you again very soon Regards Phil More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were most recently at the Golden Pheasant before their latest refit, and we'd previously always eaten in the bar as the restaurant was more expensive. Now it's all on the main menu. The restaurant service was prompt but relaxed and it wasn't too busy even on a bank holiday.

Helpful?
1 Thank snowythepyro
Management response:

Good afternoon snowythepyro Thank you for the review and taking the time to leave us your comments. I do agree having the full menu available no matter where you eat has been a greatly welcomed, and no matter where you decide to eat, its all the same price. I look forward to welcoming you again soon Regards Phil More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were 17 Family Members who met up for Dinner on Easter Friday - the service, the food the ambience was Excellent - I can highly recommend their spring menu and desert - the beer selection was excellent and even some really good wine's! SOme good Australian wines (we are from OZ) - I had the poached cold Salmon with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
Management response:

good afternoon Karen N Thank you so much for a fantastic review, and I'm so pleased you had a great visit with your family all the way from down under. I must agree we have some fantastic spring/summer dishes on our menu, which have been greatfully received. And it wouldn't be a great wine menu without some Australiuan wines. I... More 

Travellers who viewed Golden Pheasant also viewed

Ollerton, Knutsford
 

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking, Television
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Plumley Moor Road | Plumley, Knutsford WA16 9RX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Knutsford
  • Phone Number: +441565722261

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Golden Pheasant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
15 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?