We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Restaurant

18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
+44 1202 588933
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (10 reviews)
“cheese souffle” (16 reviews)
“steak” (34 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect service, great value, excellent food , fab setting, easy booking and customer contact throughout. Thoroughly recommend, we all had a wonderful night.

Thank Janet K
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for such a great review; All the best to you and your family. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a family get together for my Mum and Dads Birthday, we arrived and to start off with everthing was great the barman was great and a few of us had cocktails which were also well done. We had booked for the bank holiday...More

1  Thank marcus1232015
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch. Had the £15 set menu.. Sunday Roast and a Sweet. The food was excellent. Staff very friends. Nice seating too. I would advise to book in advance. Best parking is at civic offices car park. £1.90 for 4 hours.

Thank Keith W
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your dining experience in Kings' Restaurant. I'm glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a birthday and special anniversary meal on a Sunday evening. The welcome was very unfriendly and some of us were asked to wait in the bar and some of us were shown to the table. I don’t think one member of staff...More

Thank Elaine15
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elaine, Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read that your experience did not live up to expectation on this occasion. I would like to thank you for your feedback which have been be passed to the relevant managers for review and...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Lovely meal, relaxed atmosphere and staff were excellent. Booked an early table but no rush as was ours for the evening. Good food, well presented and good portion sizes. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thank Max31082017
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback of your experience of The Kings Harbour Hotel, we very much look forward to welcoming you over the coming years. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were impressed by the inclusive menu. Vegan , vegetarian options and much more. Wine list is excellent. Our servers were friendly and professional. On booking I noted it was my parents were celebrating 60 years of marriage and my mom her 80th. We recieved...More

Thank bobokitten
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review! I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We dined here twice during our 3 night stay. My only criticism would be that on both occasions the waitress had to tell us that certain items were no longer available on the menu. This was a shame. Apart from this, The food was great,...More

Thank weaselmum
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear weaselmum; Thank you for your review and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your visit overall. I'm disappointed to read that there were on both occasions missing items on our menu but do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

My family and I went yesterday for a Mother’s Day lunch and it was fantastic! Having had an amazing lunch there on Christmas Day, our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. Plenty of choices on the menu to suit all tastes, all food...More

Thank jennylouise411
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jenny; Thank you very much for your lovely review; the team were delighted with your feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I got married on Thursday 22nd of February it was an informal day and we booked lunch at the kings hotel for 9 guests. As always the service was exceptional the staff are very friendly and their was nothing they wouldn’t do...More

Thank Dantigra
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Once again Congratulations to you both! We are so grateful that you have chosen our Restaurant for this very special day and I am also glad you have enjoyed it; I will share your comments to our team which I know will be delighted. Thank...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

We dine here at least 3 times a month! we are fussy diners and the reason we keep coming back is the quality food and excellent service. once you find somewhere that never disappoints it makes trying new places virtually impossible!! This venue is all...More

Thank Mark S
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Good afternoon Mark; Thanks for choosing our Restaurant as one of your favourite, your feedback are fantastic for our establishment and our team. Once again thank you and see you very soon. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
The Kings Arms
825 reviews
.01 km away
Travelodge Christchurch
433 reviews
.29 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
803 reviews
.65 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
603 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Splinters
334 reviews
.11 km away
Loch & Quay
648 reviews
.11 km away
Coast Coffee
247 reviews
.12 km away
Koh Thai Christchurch
285 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christchurch Priory Church
753 reviews
.24 km away
Christchurch Quay
128 reviews
.24 km away
Red House Museum & Gardens
113 reviews
.30 km away
Christchurch Castle
85 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MICHAEL C
November 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from incabodc | Reviewed this property |
Leave Bournemouth onA338 Ringwood road at Christchurch turn go left and follow airport sign go past airport straight across traffic lights at next island turn left next island left again 300yards on the left
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$41
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly Jacks Restaurant at The Kings Hotel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 588933
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Kings Arms
Description
Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;