We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Bute Restaurant

181 Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
+44 1425 278884
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (8 reviews)
“potatoes” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
181 Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We had a great evening at the hotel at one of their themed events. It was first class and packed to capacity. Many of the guests had dressed in the 1920’s era. Unfortunately both myself and husband were stuck behind a pillar and couldn’t see...More

Thank Pamela N
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am unable to make a comment about the food in the a la carte restaurant but we were invited to an anniversary party by our friends of many years and seated in comfortable seats in pleasant surroundings my one complaint is that when the...More

1  Thank DeepeeSurrey
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Returned after vowing never to return in 2011 following a very poor meal Every restaurant deserves a second chance just a shame we left it so long Food and service excellent even though restaurant full for Mother’s Day lunch Generous portions beautifully presented. Waiting staff...More

Thank RB68
Reviewed 7 March 2018

I had the pleasure to attend an evening at the Lord Bute a couple of weeks ago and for some reason my review has been removed from this site. I am not at all happy about TripAdvisor removing this review without my permission or knowledge...More

Thank happydiner007
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Had a fabulous lunch at Lord Bute - set price menu for four courses, the menu was extensive for each course although just single option for soup. The quality was amazing and each course was presented beautifully - nice ambience in the restaurant which was...More

Thank Ken A
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Went to this fantastic Hotel Restaurant set as you enter Highcliff coming from Christchurch with the family being a late Christmas present. The meals are fit for a Lord. Set meals are really great value for money and really enjoyable. Don't just take my word...More

1  Thank TourManagerJeff
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I hesitated about leaving a review of the New Year's Eve meal because I have previously enjoyed Sunday lunches here which are some of the best in the area. But this hotel most definitely went down in my estimation following a very poor New Year's...More

Thank clarelcherry
LordBute, Owner at Lord Bute Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We are sincerely very sorry you felt the need to post a review of our New Year's Eve dinner, today. It has come as quite a shock as we were led to believe by the praise and re-bookings for the next New Year's Eve, that...More

Reviewed 16 February 2018

A must go to restaurant for food first class service and ambience Staff professional and ensure excellence on all levels.

Thank Berni M
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Every year our WI go out after Christmas for a lunch. Having pre booked as there were 48 of us, we were treated so well by all the staff. The food was excellent and the service superb. I was a little concerned as other venues...More

Thank _ann22price
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We arrived at the Lord Bute, 8th time if I remember rightly. Greeted with a smile, a welcome for a drink in the lounge before our meal, A cocktail, nicely shaken for my boyfriend, I was happy with a glass of red. We placed our...More

Thank Christopher D
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
Lord Bute Hotel
430 reviews
.01 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe
847 reviews
.50 km away
The White House - Christchurch
65 reviews
1.07 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
2,069 reviews
2.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Paddle
300 reviews
.94 km away
The Beach Hut Cafe
349 reviews
1.45 km away
Walkford Diner
11 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Highcliffe Beach
267 reviews
1.36 km away
Highcliffe Castle
499 reviews
.36 km away
Sugarpod Beauty
9 reviews
.70 km away
Napoleons
6 reviews
.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
traxxas2016
2 March 2017|
Answer
Response from robbie1doe | Reviewed this property |
yes but with a shirt and jacket would be my answer otherwise although you will be treated as anyone else you may feel slighty under dressed
0
Votes
dandg7
2 March 2017|
Answer
Response from LordBute | Property representative |
Good evening. The bands play throughout the evening (with odd breaks), however it is always possible for us to set you a table away from the music if this is your preference. Just mention this at the point of booking.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$22 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 181 Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 278884
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing