We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Cellars

Combeinteignhead | TQ12 4RT, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
+44 1626 872423
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“spicy chicken” (16 reviews)
“belly pork” (14 reviews)
“teign estuary” (33 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Combeinteignhead | TQ12 4RT, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Took our family to combe cellars and they were wowed by the views and location, lovely decor....however I warned them service could be a bit slow. Went in the week hoping would be a bit quicker but it was even worse! Waited 20 minutes for...More

Thank Helen K
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Second visit this year and pleased to say that the service now matches the excellent food . No disappointments this time and all the dishes were appreciated by the family. We shall be returning to sample more of the menu .

Thank Stephen1333
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We arrived at 11.45 and the restaurant was fully booked but deserted, so we sat in the bar area. Bar service was good, food was ok.

Thank helenelliott59
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, If you were told the restaurant was fully booked. That would of been tables coming in between 12 and 1pm. We would always try and sit people in the restaurant if we can. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We arrived here on Sunday just after lunch after a long dog walk. We had a wet dog so stood at the far end of the bar where dog treats and dog bowls of water were positioned for visiting dogs. After 2 or 3 mins...More

Thank Amanda m
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. The end of the bar where you were originally stood is where we drop off our dirty glasses so normally it wouldn't of been free to serve you, however I understand the reason behind it. I have spoken to...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Thought we would pop in for a spot of lunch today and wish we hadn't bothered! We ordered a rib eye steak sandwich and a battered fish finger sandwich. The steak was so chewy it was barely edible and the fish fingers were so greasy...More

Thank Amanda B
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good morning, Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant experience with us. I will pass your feedback onto our chefs so we can ensure this does not happen again. I will be looking into the cleanliness...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived and was seated at a nice table for two. I had to ask for the table to be wiped as it had food stuff on it and had been laid up on top of it. No problem. When our main courses arrived my...More

Thank Dan_Stevens2017
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. May I ask what time you came to visit us or even better what table you were sat on? I'm sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience with us. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great setting - awful overpriced food. Went with colleagues for a quick snack and a beer yesterday afternoon. The bar was quite and but many tables had glasses or cutlery left on them during our visit. We ordered a sticky sharing platter - which was...More

Thank Simon P
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Thank you for the review. I will use your feedback to help with our ongoing training. I'm sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for lunch here with my wife step daughter and partner. With lovely views over the estuary it was a very pleasant lunch, They offer two courses for a set price of £11.99 either a starter and a main or main and dessert. The pate...More

Thank BerttieB111
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. I will pass your comment about the chicken onto our head chef. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 1 week ago

The location does a lot for this venue - down on the estuary with views up towards Dartmoor. During the day or in the evening it really is a lovely restful place to be and theres often water skiing to watch when the tide is...More

Thank denise p
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you leaving us a review. Our menu has dairy free options, you could of asked any of our team about our dishes and we would of sorted something for you (if you didn't like the ones on our menu). If you would to discuss...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The views are amazing we were seated in a window the food was fabulous did not feel rushed and the staff were welcoming and friendly

Thank Tracey W
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wild Goose Inn
175 reviews
.87 km away
Cockhaven Arms
162 reviews
1.32 km away
Bishop John de Grandison
13 reviews
1.55 km away
Ring of Bells
22 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Teignmouth to Dawlish Railway Walk
106 reviews
1.62 km away
Old Walls Vineyard
109 reviews
2.07 km away
Bliss Spa
8 reviews
2.65 km away
Teignmouth Adventure Golf
56 reviews
3.90 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
boo-yeh
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Helen S | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Free treats and water in bar area.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Combeinteignhead | TQ12 4RT, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Newton Abbot
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 872423
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing