We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Venachar Lochside

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
British, Scottish
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
610
188
53
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
610
188
53
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cullen skink cakes mussels trout venison burger carrot cake victoria sponge soup bread potatoes harbour cafe stunning views sharing platter goats cheese sit outside lovely lunch a late lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 910 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Busy place but fitted us in for Sunday lunch. Best Cullen skink had for a long time. Mains of sea bass and beef first class . Not a cheap place to eat but good staff,quality food and presentation. Location a dream Well done

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dennis1010
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Family of 4 for lunch, no booking, table was offered for a period of 1hr. Great. Food arrived about 15 mins before end of hour. No apology for wait. Bill arrived 5 mins after food. Chased out. Again no apology for inconvenience. Poor. Won’t be...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Lynne H
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Nice enough place with lovely lakeside views...Arrived at 1100hrs for breakfast/ early lunch...despite a great smell of bacon we couldn’t order food until 1200hrs, so more of a restaurant than cafe l think. I wasn’t keen on the waiter, he didn’t go out of his...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank PeteW602
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Introduced to this restaurant by friends. Food amazing. The cakes for dessert were really yummy. I wish we lived nearer!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Go829683
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for such a glowing review. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at Venachar Lochside. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Beth Assistant Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived after having previously planned to stop at two other locations for a Morning Coffee which we then found closed. We were poinrted in the direction of this lovely restuarant on the banks of Loch Lomand. We were a group of about 15 out...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Alf F
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Alf, Thank you for providing us with such a positive review following your recent visit to Venachar Lochside. It is lovely to hear that your children fell in love with our restaurant dog, Bruno. We (as well as Bruno) look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sat outside on the decking looking across the beautiful loch, an ideal setting for any meal or snack served by friendly helpful staff. The scones were fabulous and fresh served with butter and a generous pot of absolutely delicious raspberry jam, sadly no clotted cream!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank L4481MAhelenr
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Many thanks for your enthusiastic review of Venachar Lochside! We are very pleased that you got to sample our talented chef's delicious scones. I will ask them to prepare some fresh cream for your next visit. Best wishes, Beth Assistant Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited on the strength of a recent review - 'Fabulous view and food' Feb2019. I was shocked by the quality of the food served to me today. The scallop starter looked nothing like the one pictured in the review, I got three small scallops,...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Descriptionq
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent dining experience at Venachar Lochside. Our restaurant takes great care and pride in offering some of the very best produce...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for lunch today. The staff were very helpful, polite and efficient. The food was well cooked and perfectly presented. Seasoning was excellent on the Cullen Skink. The scallops were spot on. Can’t fault the mains and the cake on the deck after was wonderful.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank dstarr2013
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your compliments of the food and service experienced and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Beth Assistant Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great wee spot!! By the water and has beautiful views over the lake! We stopped for lunch and it was really great! Modern Scottish food. We’ll be back!

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank markitakos
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Markita, Many thanks for providing us with such a positive review following your lunch visit. It is lovely to hear that you will be returning, we cannot wait to welcome you back. Best wishes, Beth Assistant Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Superb lunch spot. We had the sharing platter which was a selection of local fish smoked and cooked with homemade pickled veg and the most gorgeous bread!!the views were stunning sat right in the loch and the coffee was lovely 😊More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Baillie34
VenacharLochside, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Baillie, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. It is great that our passion does not go unnoticed. We are so pleased that you enjoyed one of our unique sharing boards and we cannot wait to see you again...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
762 reviews
5.04 km away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
347 reviews
5.62 km away
The Crown Hotel
312 reviews
6.03 km away
Highland House Hotel
153 reviews
6.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 45 nearby restaurants
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
380 reviews
5.04 km away
Callander Meadows
366 reviews
6.03 km away
Scott's bistro
140 reviews
5.94 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 27 nearby attractions
Inchmahome Priory
231 reviews
5.48 km away
Go Ape
467 reviews
6.27 km away
Bracklinn Falls Bridge and Callander Crags
626 reviews
6.56 km away
Three Lochs Forest Drive
176 reviews
5.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jim R
February 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from patk560 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I am afraid I don’t know but a phone call to the restaurant might answer your question.
0
Votes
Jim R
February 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ena-Bill | Reviewed this property |
Don't know...why don't you ask the restaurant
0
Votes
sjodell2
July 30, 2018|
Answer
Response from Nevisdog | Reviewed this property |
Hi we were only allowed to take the dog outside but on a good day, with the views, that’s where you would want to go.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing