We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lade Inn

Route A821 off A84, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HD, Scotland
+44 1877 330152
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good35%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“haggis balls” (23 reviews)
“steak ale pie” (9 reviews)
“mash” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Route A821 off A84, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HD, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 170 of 724 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2017

Stopped here on our way back from Lake Katrine. We had a mug of really tasty creamy lentil soup with a cheese baguette which was warm and a bowl of chips. Everything was fresh and tasty. Staff were friendly, and efficient. Would definitely call again.

Thank caerleelady
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to you visiting us again.

Reviewed May 5, 2017

Friendly and welcoming staff. Good food, gives times to allow for cooking (which is a good sign), artwork on the walls you can buy. (menu on line to review)More

Thank Michele O
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and appreciated the little details such as us giving cooking times for certain dishes. We do this as we want our customers to know that the food we...More

Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

I dont normally review unless I feel somewhere is pretty exceptional and this place is most definately that. Myself, my daughter (2.5) a friend and her small dog stopped by here for lunch after a morning walking. We made our way to the bothy bar...More

Thank Fiona D
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and we do include meal cooking times for certain dishes as they are all cooked fresh to order as you understand. During peak times the meals...More

Reviewed May 4, 2017

The meals are excellent, the chef (I believe the owners son,) freshly prepares each meal and his dishes are second to none. The staff are friendly and efficient and always very pleasant, a very good family, and cosmopolitan atmosphere in this gem of a place....More

Thank Jim G
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thanks for your Trip Advisor review. We take pride in our meals being freshly prepared so are happy that many of our customers appreciate this. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks.

Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

Long time waiting for food, but tasty food and fairly nice table waiters. Not the best place ever, but acceptable, we thought. Until the most unexpected scene happened. During payment I allegedly took out my card too early (I don't think so, but if I...More

2  Thank CatarinaMarques
Frank P, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

This review and the review "Never Again" refer to the same visit by you and your partner and are written as though separate incidents to inflict maximum damage to our reputation and business. You visited us on a busy day and as our food is...More

Reviewed May 1, 2017

Today my wife and I went to Callander for a day out. We started walking the old railway line towards Strathyre. After a gentle stroll we arrived at the road to the Trossachs and decided to walk to The Lade Inn for a light lunch....More

Thank Hhm18
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments from your recent trip to The Lade Inn. I am sorry that your Baguettes did indeed take a long time and I hope you enjoyed your additional drink. As you mentioned at...More

Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

An inn that is labelled as one of the best in the area.. Well, average food and a long waiting time, but these are things to expected when travelling. The rudeness of the staff, on the other hand, was totally unexpected in Scotland, and makes...More

Thank palpite1 .
Frank P, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

This review and "Unbelievable" refer to the same incident and are written by you as if they are different incidents to inflict maximum damage to our reputation and business. When busy we warn diners of any wait time as we cook all our food fresh...More

Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We called in for lunch on Saturday - we had never been before - this was just an "on spec" visit. We won't be returning. The waiter/barman met us in the corridor and gruffly asked "what is it you want". Very rude. The service continued...More

1  Thank 400karenm
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us regarding your recent visit. I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service you received and this is due to the fact that we have a...More

Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

Over-priced, below average food served in a tatty restaurant by a disinterested, gum-chewing waiter. Get it sorted Lade Inn.More

1  Thank Tom M
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

I am very sorry to hear your comments regarding your recent visit. Our prices are displayed on our menu board on the outside of the building and whether or not diners choose to eat with us is completely at their discretion. Our restaurant we feel...More

Reviewed April 25, 2017

We came very late, 20mins before closing but we were still offered a table and food (I was feeling really guilty that because of us our wonderful and nice waiter had to stay 15mins longer on a Sunday night...). Food was great - we ordered...More

Thank HR2009
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal and the service and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
344 reviews
1.38 km away
The Crown Hotel
308 reviews
1.84 km away
Highland House Hotel
149 reviews
2.09 km away
Craigburn House
1 review
2.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Poppy Seed Restaurant
271 reviews
1.37 km away
The Old Rectory Inn
119 reviews
1.42 km away
Chinese Village
142 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bracklinn Falls Bridge and Callander Crags
616 reviews
2.43 km away
Hamilton Toy Collection
146 reviews
2.20 km away
Loch Lubnaig
82 reviews
3.27 km away
Callander Information Centre
71 reviews
1.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Penny K
September 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from digitraisedwhenasked | Reviewed this property |
In the bar area but plenty of seats to enjoy a bar meal. The pub is on a walk anyway. Hope this is helpful.
1
Vote
anlocam
December 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Frank P | Property representative |
We are dog friendly and we welcome dogs with well behaved owners in our Bothy Bars, where our full menu is available to diners
1
Vote
peter m
April 2, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Frank P | Property representative |
We have tracked allergens for years and we list Gluten Free meals on our restaurant menu. Recent Health and Safety changes now require us to cover many more allergens and we are in the process of preparing a booklet... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Route A821 off A84, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park  >  Callander
  • Phone Number: +44 1877 330152
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing