We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Life Cafe And Bistro

Bude Cycle Centre Pethericks Mill | Unit 1, Bude EX23 8TF, England
+44 1288 355994
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good14%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“toasties” (10 reviews)
“cakes” (19 reviews)
“poached eggs” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bude Cycle Centre Pethericks Mill | Unit 1, Bude EX23 8TF, England
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited here on a Thursday with a large family at 4pm to grab a meal at teatime, only to find a hand written note on the door stating it closes at 4pm each night. Wish they would update all social media of this fact to...More

Thank Andrea P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The bude canal is a lovely flat walk for families and those with difficultly walking. During the spring time there are often lots of wildlife to spot and feed if you have little ones. This is a lovely cafe offering barista style coffees, a selection...More

Thank Vicky K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been once for a delicious Sunday lunch and another for a weekday lunch. Both times all staff and the owner have been very friendly, humourous and helpful. We really enjoyed it and will make it a regular stop.

Thank Christine S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Found by accident,my word what a find a welcoming smile.As for the food fantastic,breakfast bap,fry up scrambled egg on toast with bacon LUSH ! Great coffee and a good selection of tea's.Clean and tidy,car park too and reasonable prices try try try !!!!!!

Thank Daren S
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Nice selection of hot and cold drinks, Ice-creams & good selection of cake. Nice to sit outside & dog friendly

Thank thescampster
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic breakfast. Reasonable price. Great coffee with home made cakes. Really friendly staff. Well worth. Visit when in Bude

Thank padchandler
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Visited late in the day on a Sunday, about an hour before closing time. Staff were very friendly and the service was great. Was a last minute decision after doing some shopping and what a pleasant surprise. Food was excellent and two of our group...More

Thank Jake K
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Only had a cappuccino but cakes and food looked excellent and were reasonably priced. Right by the canal good for walks and tables outside for when the weather is fine.

Thank YvonneH574
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Myself and my partner popped in on the off chance for breakfast. We weren't disappointed. Great quality, great portion size - amazing sausages

Thank sal1082
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This has been one of my favourite places to eat for many years but for the last two visits it's been disappointing. The decor had changed and this should have been a clue but we went back a second time and it was clear the...More

Thank Steve M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bank Tapas and Grill Restaurant
497 reviews
.09 km away
Olive Tree Bude
829 reviews
.58 km away
Brendon Arms
500 reviews
.48 km away
The Barge
77 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bude Sea Pool
608 reviews
1.32 km away
Summerleaze Beach
236 reviews
1.45 km away
Walk Bude - Coastal & Canal
166 reviews
.50 km away
The Castle Bude
128 reviews
.78 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
DevonHousewife
Thank you for your response to my review however you must be thinking of someone else who complained as we did not do so at the time and we did pay for our meals in full
21 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Mandy E | Property representative |
My apologies - If you wish to remain anonymous, I understand - however, I would be more than happy to recompense you in some way for your experience if you would like to contact me.
-1
Votes
jclimecot
We heard this week that River Life has closed. Is this right?
11 June 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Annette L |
I've been trying to ring them to book, but no-one answers the phone. I guess it has shut down. It was on the market before Christmas, but then withdrawn.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bude Cycle Centre Pethericks Mill | Unit 1, Bude EX23 8TF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Bude-Stratton  >  Bude
  • Phone Number: +44 1288 355994
  • E-mail
Description
Enjoy a relaxing Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner with family and friends in our cafe now under new ownership.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing