We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Criterion

63-64 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DE, England
+44 1305 784520
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (6 reviews)
“salad” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 20:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
63-64 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Having a day out at the seaside so it had to be fish and chips. We chose the 'waitress service' and were quickly shown to our table upstairs. Looks quite an old building, plenty of character. We all enjoyed our meal which was piping hot...More

Thank Tina A
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your meals. We had an exceptionally busy day - being Carnival day, like you mentioned, and I'm glad there wasn't a long wait for your order too. The staff were amazing that day, all...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

After six days of fish at the seaside I needed a change.... Me and my family headed into Criterion and I had the beef! Coated in gravy with chips I was unfortunate enough to suffer what I can only guess was beef made many hours...More

Thank Jeves18
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I'm disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit. We get a lot of compliments about our fish, whether it be the Cod or Haddock. If the waitresses were informed of this at the time, we would have been able to rectify it for you....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had their Fish n Chips dinner. Watery, no taste Battered Cod x 2 servings. Service OK. Other meals werenormally very good here last year.

Thank Larry B
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry to hear you didn't think our cod was up to our normal standard. It is cooked freshly and the fish is quality checked when it comes in, if the waitress was notified then we would have gladly replaced your meals.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a self-service restaurant, so don't expect waiters at your table. Best thing to try here is the Dorset cream tea. You get a scone with cream and jam and a mug of tea for a decent price, though if it's for two people...More

Thank colourgirl7
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for your review & glad you enjoyed our cream tea. We do offer traditional cream teas for one or two (or more) people which come on a tray which includes everything you would expect - scone, jam, clotted cream, pot of tea...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1510
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here during our holiday to Weymouth. Staff are friendly and our food was top notch. This review really is informing visitors about the lack of disabled access especially for the elderly which was in our case. The toilets are 3 flights up and steps...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review, I am aware that this is a problem which I would love to address. It is not an ideal situation we have with the toilets, but without installing a passenger lift at an estimated £50,000 + it wouldn't be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here before. Last year and the year before. Went back this year on 4 different days. Very friendly and polite. Service excellent, hot and quick. I am not a bit eater and they let me have a child's portion, a lot of people will...More

Thank jeanette_harris
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review, we have bought a small fryer which allows us to cook our gluten free chips & other items in. Hope to see you next year!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always busy for a reason...great food friendly hard working staff and excellent value sea views as well...a lot of space on multi floors good value all round

Thank St4ontour
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Totally DISGUSTED, waited nearly 15 minutes for waitress to take our order in "WAITRESS SERVICE" area, had to ask if anybody was taking our order.. Waited for drinks, then food arrived (2 Topside of beef dinners) which you could tell were boil in the bag...More

Thank DiecastDave
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Simply put, we have a 1 course Beef price and a 2 course special Beef price. I can only assume you had a dessert which was not part of the offer. The waitress could have printed off the wrong table bill, which of course, was...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant 3 years ago (and left a review at that time too). We experienced such dreadful service that we left without ordering, and vowed not to visit again , but today, 2nd August 2017, we'd been in Weymouth on a wet and...More

1  Thank keithandsylv
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

What a shame you couldn't be patient enough to wait for your order to be taken. If you require silver service, might I suggest the Criterion in London.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here twice and were very happy both times. Afternoon tea for two was under £7 and the scones were huge and warm with a generous pot of tea. Went back for breakfast the next day and the food, service and price did not...More

Thank Rugbygirl65
Nick C, Owner at Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for such a nice review, it is always good to hear from satisfied customers. I'm glad you enjoyed our scones and came back for one of our freshly cooked breakfasts. Hope to see you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Good Life Cafe
165 reviews
.05 km away
Cafe Blue
186 reviews
.02 km away
Ming Wah
384 reviews
.10 km away
Cafe Piccolo
20 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Fantastic Sausage Factory Ltd
25 reviews
.38 km away
The Palm House
29 reviews
.25 km away
Body Soul & Spirit
7 reviews
.22 km away
Stuart Wiltshire Glass
298 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
torre26
27 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Nick C | Property representative |
A small section, completely away from any cooking area, is available which we allow well behaved dogs into. We have plenty of other seating areas if you do not wish to be seated by dogs and their owners.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$12
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
08:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 63-64 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Weymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 784520
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing