We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

Yarlside Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0EU, England
+44 1229 826902
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good22%
  • Average20%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
“kebab” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Yarlside Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0EU, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Popped in for dinner last Wednesday night. Food and drinks service was very good..cannot complain about this. We both ordered the steak..one medium and the other rare-medium. Got a well done and a medium cooked steaks (small serve by our standards). And the serving of...More

Thank Andy R
Reviewed 14 February 2017

very nice afternoon meal for a birthday, good beer and great choic at a decent price,will be going again soon.

1  Thank michaelmorgan1966
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Nice place to eat. Car park right outside (pay and display). Good view over the lake Staff very friendly and helpful. Had the hot beef and onion baguette. Very good value. Wife had Haddock and chips with mushy peas. White flakey fish with light tasty...More

Thank ButrusJ
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Went to Ship Inn for Sunday lunch on 29th January 2017. I had roast beef, which melted in the mouth, and my husband had pork. Plenty of veg, Yorkshire pudding and lovely thick gravy. Portions so good had to wait a while before ordering dessert...More

1  Thank Sheila D
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived, and was welcome by the female member of staff, who looked after us whilst we was there. Was quiet when we first arrived but was soon busy due to an 18th birthday party. Food was OK, service was better.

1  Thank Claire K
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The service was appalling, we waited an hour for the food and when it came it wasn't what I ordered. The staff were surly and there was no heating on, it was very cold. We all agreed that we won't be going back there

1  Thank Georgina C
Reviewed 15 December 2016

13 of us went for a meal at 5pm. We were greeted by friendly staff in a lovely cosy atmosphere. Some chose 2 meals for £10, which were a good size. A lot of different meals were ordered and they all came piping hot, and...More

1  Thank Beth16C
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The bar staff were lovely ! Where as the food was vile and we complained to the chef and he was very rude as he shouted at us from the kitchen! We had a table of 6 we all ordered food and they forgot about...More

3  Thank Katie S
Dave Y, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Hi I would like to express my regret in the service you recived in my establishment and I would be happy for you to call in and have a chat with myself Or give me your number to contact you

Reviewed 20 November 2016

just visited the ship for Sunday evening tea.......two adults, two teens (one teen a vegetarian). Could not fault our meals, all had starters (the sharing platter is huge and absolutely lovely) all starters great. Great menu with loads of choices, good choice of veggie options....More

2  Thank Kate0306
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We haven't visited since last management... before current management. Previous ones did absolutely put us off ver returning. They were so so rude and basically very people unfriendly. They were obnoxious to customers. When we realised the ship had been taken over again by new...More

2  Thank Barbara F
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Concle Inn
13 reviews
.78 km away
Old Smithy
11 reviews
.20 km away
Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie
56 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Dock Museum
370 reviews
3.20 km away
Safari Zoo
2,688 reviews
5.76 km away
Furness Abbey
289 reviews
2.11 km away
Barrow Park
103 reviews
1.82 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
walney31
What time are the last orders, for food, i will be travelling up from Chester on Thursday night
5 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Dave Y | Property representative |
Hi last orders for food on Thursday is 7.45
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Yarlside Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Barrow-in-Furness
  • Phone Number: +44 1229 826902
  • E-mail