We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chinese Buffet

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
+44 1942 820277
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 352: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everyone was ill after our meals I would not recommend eating here Drinks are expensive very Poor quality and not at all value for money

Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love going to the Chinese buffet. All you can eat and with pudding too! Always go to the one in Wigan and its always got great choice of food and very clean. Lovely staff that are always happy to help

Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout201
Golborne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had not been here, for some time, so decided to have lunch and see the refurbishment as the restaurant was closed for quite a while. The food area had been redesigned and nice but that where it ended. Some starter dishes were empty and what I chose was cold.There wasn't the choice of main courses that they have had... More 

Helpful?
Thank roy45Golborne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't be bothered cooking on Sunday night & after noticing this place when shopping in Wigan the other week we thought we would give it a try! £13.99 per head for adults and there was such a variety! We had a couple of beers each and the bill was just over £40! You won't leave this place hungry! The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank PolliPolly4
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a catch up with friends and despite not having booked, found us a great table near to the food (I am on crutches). Restaurant really clean, lots of staff on, tables kept clear between courses. Fantastic choices, all food lovely and hot. Very tasty. Had a lovely night. Didn't get to try everything I wanted, ate too much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Squiggles23
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you go about 8pm the food is normally turned over quite quickly as busy and therefore tends to be at its freshest, they tend not to fill up as regular at 8:30-9 so you don't tend to get as much value, the chocolate fountain normally goes off about this time. Overall good choice of starters, mains the usual you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kev J
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you feel there is plenty of choice, thank you for your lovely comments More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was excellent quality and the serving staff came around regularly clearing the table. Clean, Comfortable and a nice atmostphere

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we're so glad you enjoyed dining with us. More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has gone down the nick quite a lot It used to be great in the afternoon. It now has poorer choice with some stations not being stocked up in time.

Helpful?
Thank Robert c
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy dining with us, I will pass your comments back to the team More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We go once a year but still at £15 it's over priced. Yes you can eat all you want but really you can only eat so much.

Helpful?
1 Thank DANIEL W
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we will pass your comments back to the team More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

Good range of food, always readily refilled. Hot plate offered great steak, etc.. Staff very good,, and helpful You can't leave here hungry, Wasn't over warm in restaurant though, but it was a bitter cold night.... Will use regularly..

Helpful?
Thank flameangel305
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

We're so glad you feel there's a good range of dishes, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$17
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Parking Available, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Wigan
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 820277
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant.
Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations.
Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers.

They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards.

THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant.

THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Chinese Buffet and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Chinese Buffet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?