We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coven

43 Hallgate | Victorian Quarter, Wigan WN1 1LR, England
+44 1942 237801
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good13%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mushroom burger” (29 reviews)
“fritters” (22 reviews)
“hummus” (11 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 AM - 4:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
43 Hallgate | Victorian Quarter, Wigan WN1 1LR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Really enjoyee the food here. Been meaning to try this place for ages and glad i did. The food isnt just for veggie/vegan and would be enjoyed by amybody. The homemade chips made it worth it on their own!

Thank Peter H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I could not recommend this place more highly! The food is extremely good and fresh and it is clear great pride is taken with every dish! As a ‘meat eater’ I was slightly apprehensive, but I was not disappointed in the slightest and left full...More

Thank LeeDSimo
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Well, what a lovely review. Thank you very much indeed x

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Something a little bit different. I thoroughly enjoyed the cookery course at the superb Coven, last Sunday. I learnt so much and sampled the delicious food yet again. Thanks Sue!

Thank Juniper01032014
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You were such a lovely group. I enjoyed it, too. Thank you x

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I dropped in for lunch here this week for the first time. I loved the relaxed and laid back feeling. I had the Moroccan stew and it was absolutely delicious. I also had the best decaf latte l've ordered in Wigan. I'll be back here...More

Thank Caleigh K
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I do love specific feedback like that. Thank you x

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Absolutely lovely experience here, i had reserved a table for my friend and i to meet up. Everything was lovely, the service, the quality of the food, the choices and the prices. really really good value for money. Our food came in good time, we...More

Thank Rachel S
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

I'm glad you had such a lovely time. Great to hear. Thank you x

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This is an incredible place, with the tastiest food, the friendliest staff, the most enchanting decor and the coolest vibe. We had lunch here after tasting a little piece of Coven food heaven at last week's food festival at Haigh Hall-mouthwatering mezze, scrumptious Buddha salad...More

Thank colissa
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

That's just lovely. Thank you. And thanks for coming to both places xx

Reviewed 20 September 2017

If you decide to eat here, be prepared to wait a VERY long time. My friend and I booked a table last Saturday for lunch. I ordered mushroom burger and chips and my friend ordered Spanish potatoes. There were only six other people in the...More

Thank Dorian H
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello. I think you were with the previous reviewer so rather than retype I'll refer you to that with the same apology and the same point about a one star being rather harsh. I'm sorry you both felt the need to write two reviews from...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

The pace of the service was awful. We waited 50 minutes to be served and part of the order never arrived.The waitress said it was on its way. It never arrived but when we complained at the till we were told it wasn't on our...More

1  Thank calamityjane1953
Eleanor H, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

My apologies for the wait though we were exceptionally busy inside and out and I hope you were kept informed. Cooking food from scratch takes time and a sudden influx of customers all at the same time can mean that waiting times are longer than...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent food! The waiters talk to you and I would give it a 10/10! I liked the potatoes, the eggs, the mushrooms, and all kinds of different food! It was the best breakfast ever. 😋More

Thank phainonimus
SueHWigan, Owner at The Coven, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you Phainonimous. Yours is the the first review I've responded to. It's my new policy. My old policy was to not respond to any because people are so nice and I didn't want to sound fake or repetitive. That was, of course, silly. It's...More

Reviewed 8 July 2017

We called again yesterday for lunch. We don't come into Wigan often during the day and really wish that this fabulous place was nearer . Fantastic dishes: lentil curry, Chinese fritters, side salads, Black Forest sundaes. All amazing. We booked for the cookery course too....More

Thank Juniper01032014
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Sentidos Loca
140 reviews
.08 km away
The Courtyard
43 reviews
.06 km away
John Bull Chophouse
58 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Courts
58 reviews
.10 km away
Wigan Little Theatre
89 reviews
.38 km away
Mesnes Park
28 reviews
.70 km away
Museum of Wigan Life
67 reviews
.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris C
14 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Eleanor H |
During the day you can use car parks such as Tge Galleries or the Bus Station which are close. After 6.39 you can park on this street. It's always best to book for an evening visit. Regards, Sue
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 Hallgate | Victorian Quarter, Wigan WN1 1LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Wigan
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 237801
  • E-mail
Description
Fantastic cuisine in a historic part of town. Pure vegetarian & vegan with a wide choice for coeliacs too. Everything is cooked from scratch in The Coven kitchen - we all all the ingredients in our food so we can guarantee the quality. We also cater for special diets and needs and have special ingredients on hand to help. Massive drinks menu with 25 fine loose teas, organic coffees and normal & vegan milkshakes & smoothies.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing