We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Inn

19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
+44 1983 863023
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (44 reviews)
“salad” (53 reviews)
“burger” (50 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Located right on the front this along with a few other venues make the most of the outside area being set up for dinning. This one particularly impressed as it was equipped with heaters not just in the canopy area but also the large parsons...More

Thank Derek H
Reviewed 3 days ago

They need to decide whether they want to be a family friendly pub/restaurant or dog friendly. There were dogs barking at each other but also at the kids running about. Terrible atmosphere. Shame food and drink are good.

Thank Robert S
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had afternoon drinks here and was so impressed we came back that evening. We ate there on the Saturday night the evenings live singer was great and the whole place had a good atmosphere. The food is good but very huge portions. Staff are...More

Thank Mcnamat
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi McNamat, Thanks for your review, hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Best thing about the waterfront is the beautiful view across the channel. Enjoy a drink with friendly service from the very young staff. Fish & chips, real ale battered fish, maybe when it left the factory however when it obviously emerged from the oven as...More

1  Thank Paul R
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Paul, Sorry to hear only now and this way that you had a bad experience. It look like you made up your mind, but I must disappoint you even further by reassuring you that our fish and chips is cod fillet, 230 to 270gr,...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Good pub food presented to a good standard with some local ingredients. Perfect for breakfast, lunch and evenings, uninterrupted views of the sea and beach from most tables inside and out, parking is free on the Esplanade after 6pm. Worth a try you won’t be...More

Thank Steve B
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear steve, Many thanks for your great review see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a nice meal with the family, nice burgers, very clean and friendly. Nice location right on the seafront.

Thank coombsy1960
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Coombsy, Many thanks for your review see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Shanklin for a long weekend and ended up having a drink in here on the first day and everything really nice about the place. Location brilliant and staff friendly. Returned for more drinks next day as well as lunch and then back in the...More

Thank Chris E
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Chris E, GRACIE... from the French Manager/Co-Owner Many thanks for your great review, thats rewards our hard work, it is pleasant to be recognised for our hospitality. Hoping to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing food,couldn't get enough of it-but the friendly,helpful and welcoming staff made the day. First time visiting but glad I did! Big Thankyou to the foh staff and chef/s😄

Thank lanak16
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hey Lanak, on behalf of our entire team... many thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite a few eating places along Shanklin now but decided to give this place a try. Greeted by a friendly bar man for drinks and ordered food. Sat outside - place was very clean and tidy. We had the cod and chips and gammon and...More

Thank malibulover2013
Waterfront I, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Malibu lover, thanks for your kind review

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On our trip to Shanklin we stopped at almost every bar we saw. The Waterfront Inn was one of our favourites purely because of the view and value for money. It's located on the Shanklin esplanade with views of the beach. The staff were very...More

Thank Spinx1987
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Steamer Inn
249 reviews
.02 km away
Aqua Hotel
207 reviews
.10 km away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
213 reviews
.12 km away
Brunswick Hotel
209 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Morgans Restaurant
767 reviews
.47 km away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
1,472 reviews
.02 km away
The Aqua
220 reviews
.04 km away
Fisherman's Cottage
696 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
573 reviews
.46 km away
Rylstone Gardens
258 reviews
.57 km away
Shanklin Chine
2,125 reviews
.27 km away
Shanklin Beach
93 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Waterfront Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 863023
  • E-mail
Description
We are a free house and offer a wide selection of Isle of Wight ales, lagers, wines & spirits, together with a straightforward, homely menu that features succulent steaks and local seafood in addition to the usual seaside favourites. Why not come and unwind with us - enjoy a leisurely cocktail in our bar or outside on our sun terrace - all giving panoramic sea views from Shanklin across Sandown Bay towards the white cliffs of Culver Down. We offer live music every weekend.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;