We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (58 reviews)
“fish fingers” (19 reviews)
“sea bass” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A second seafood dinner in two nights with a business colleague and thrilled to find Skate with Queenies on their menu for my main course! Skate freshly caught that morning too... Went brilliantly with the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc. 😎

Thank ChampagneLiverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fish dishes to die for. I ate in many fish restaurants on this trip and it is difficult to choose the best but this would be in the top two.

Thank RobTVR
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having been highly recommended this restaurant by locals was utterly disgusted by the service, attitude and treatment of the waitresses and their way of dealing with, what was simply their mistake! Spend your money elsewhere where you will be treated like a customer. You would...More

1  Thank Spanna27
manxfoodie, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

readers - the views express by this lady exemplifies the reasons i asked the party to leave. Their inexcusable bad behavior and rudeness to my staff was unjustifiable.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten here before on over £100 / head entertaining my team. Staff this time we're frankly obnoxious, told my table we lied about our champagne order and basically told us to leave. Never returning - hope the restaurant fails, frankly they deserve to, nobody...More

2  Thank Andrew N
manxfoodie, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

there is more to this " story " than I want to bore you with. Tanroagan has a high reputation on the island, my staff are professionals and I will not condone any bad behavior or rudeness towards them. During that evening I suggested that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the friendly atmosphere at Tanroagan's. I had two slow-cooked whole mackerel in soy and ginger sauce, and this was excellent (if somewhat more ample than I needed for a starter!) as was the pan-fried hake to follow. My partner...More

Thank John R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Discovered this lovely hidden restaurant, but unable to get a table the first visit. Returned the following evening and were not disapointed. Staff lovely an an interesting menu with excellent wine choices. We will be returning on our next visit. Also dined at the sister...More

Thank currygirl2014
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A great seafood restaurant serving super food. Lively atmosphere with very helpful staff. Seafood curry was sensational. A great find and lives up to it's high rating.

Thank Paul B
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The food is amazing. The kitchen can be viewed from one's table. The service is second to none. The only downside, if this is a downside, is one has to book well in advance to be sure of a reservation.

Thank mungophoenix
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Friendly people and tasty food. The fish in the fish fingers and chips was perfectly prepared, crisp and hot and not at all greasy. Enjoyed my introduction to "queenies" in the delicious and filling Manx Queenie Pancake, packed full of scallops. We also got the...More

Thank Flyingpig666
Reviewed 6 July 2017

A very rustic and small restaurant just off the harbour in Douglas. We dined here based on previous Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Didn't have starters as the main courses sounded so delicious. So for me it was a whole lobster thermidor...excellent!...More

3  Thank Graham M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Little Fish Cafe
460 reviews
.04 km away
14 North
504 reviews
.15 km away
Just Pizza & Pasta
155 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Manx Museum
665 reviews
.69 km away
Palace Casino
103 reviews
1.10 km away
The Tynwald Library
6 reviews
.31 km away
Guided Tours of Mann
29 reviews
1.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
6 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
12 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$64
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing