We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (66 reviews)
“fish fingers” (22 reviews)
“sea bass” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 30 of 515 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2018

We booked for last night for a Birthday meal for our daughter and family. Been many times before and last night did not disappoint either, service was great and friendly, the meal was beautiful, locally caught fish, how can it get better and cooked to...More

Thank Manxie1951
Reviewed February 13, 2018

We had a lovely evening at Tanrogan sampling great fresh fish and seafood - the risotto was perfectly cooked and the seasoning spot on.

Thank Rachel S
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Hello Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. The risotto with Cod is one of my favourites. Best wishes

Reviewed February 12, 2018

Visited 9/2/18. Music too loud and not right for this restaurant. Tiny amount of butter for bread with starter, Had to ask for more. Ordered Lemon Sole from board. Came with a heavy cream sauce. Absolutely dreadful. No mention of cream sauce on description on...More

2  Thank Lynne C
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Thank you for your comments It is unfortunate to hear your experience of the evening described in this way. The butter is provided for our complimentary bread offered in the evening, along with a choice of balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Rather than waste, the...More

Reviewed February 12, 2018

Acceptable food but not at the price point and the sad thing is that it would take very little to make this place exceptional. Just lost it's way!More

Thank David S
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Hello Thank you for your review. I can see we didn't meet all your expectations on this visit. I would really appreciate if you could get in touch via our email / or facebook (direct message) and tell us a little more about the visit....More

Reviewed February 3, 2018

I ordered a filleted fish and it was much too salty . I notified the waitress that it was too salty to eat and she took my dish. After a few minutes she returned and said that the chef had tasted the fished and declared...More

Thank judy e
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Sorry to hear about your meal experience. I can see you were not satisfied with the chefs response. Seasoning is part of the cooking process and the chef will have tasted dishes throughout cooking to ensure it was seasoned appropriately to his specification. However, seasoning...More

Reviewed January 9, 2018

Usually have fab lobster on the menu, staff are friendly and helpful. A little cold in winter as its glass fronted, but fab seafood well cooked. Starters are excellent and good selection of wine and cocktails, plus mini puds for those eating healthy.More

Thank Splosh27
Robin M, Manager at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Thank you for your review. The island sure has great lobsters and shellfish. Throughout winter it would be best to ask ahead if you would like to reserve Lobsters as the winter weather makes going out to sea unpredictable and can limit supplies. Look forward...More

Reviewed January 5, 2018

Went to Tanroagan with my son while we were touring the Isle of Man. It was fantastic. We loved it so much that we went to its sister restaurant , the Boatyard, in Peel. I wanted queenie pancakes to start but didn't want the Lardons....More

Thank nancyneville
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Excellent food, lost its way a couple of years back but back on top from now. Old niggles still remain, tables crammed in et cetera but fun and top food and service. Don't however, think of staying passed 3.00 for lunch they would rather you...More

Thank willcott
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to this restaurant & again I was not disappointed. This visit was on a snowy freezing evening, which meant that many people had cancelled their reservations. There was also an issue with the water supply, so they could not use...More

Thank Gastromanc
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Great fish and seafood restaurant. The soy glazed hake was out of this world! Lovely cosy atmosphere at the restaurant and great service.Highly recommended

Thank CindyThompson15
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Isle of Man
The Claremont Hotel
428 reviews
.36 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
677 reviews
.45 km away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
329 reviews
.52 km away
Halvard Hotel
2 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Just Pizza & Pasta
231 reviews
.21 km away
262 reviews
.17 km away
Little Fish Cafe
524 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Man Bus and Rail
1,103 reviews
.33 km away
Manx Museum
766 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
185 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
11 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
September 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
October 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
Margaret T
February 12, 2015|
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$24 - US$66
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing