We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (61 reviews)
“fish fingers” (19 reviews)
“sea bass” (25 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Much enjoyed my first visit, especially as it was my birthday, and I wasn't paying for it! Loved the distressed tables and tiled floor, which shouldn't have gone well together, but it worked a treat. I had the crab toasties - a bit of a...More

Thank 300andrew
Reviewed 9 August 2017

we booked to take my wife's mum here for a Birthday lunch not realising it was a sister restaurant to the excellent Boatyard we had already visited in Peel. we found Tanroagan to be equally impressive. i had the smoked fish board for starters which...More

Thank Chris M
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I can really recommend this restaurant. Good atmosphere and fab food! The Asian style mackerel starter was fabulous!!!

Thank DirkAdam
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Isle of Man. When we were there we ate at three amazing restaurants - wud recommend them fully. The Boatyard in Peel - awesome seafood, atmosphere and really quirky setting. Titan in Douglas - dramatic meat skewers, modern feel, friendly staff, yummy food. Tanroagan in...More

Thank Bostonwoof
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Recommend you book, went early and had great food and great service, recommend Mosaic beer also. Many thanks

Thank Rob A
Reviewed 1 August 2017

One of those restaurants where popularity means the owners make use of the available space, which on a good day makes for a convivial atmosphere. Would not make a special trip, but food is good, if not exceptionally so, and the same can be said...More

Thank PerryFrastic
Robin M, Manager at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hello Thank you for your review. We operate in an old Victorian building which was not originally designed for a restaurant in the 21st Century. So we make the very best of what we have when it comes to the dining room and associated work...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

A second seafood dinner in two nights with a business colleague and thrilled to find Skate with Queenies on their menu for my main course! Skate freshly caught that morning too... Went brilliantly with the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc. 😎

Thank ChampagneLiverpool
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Fish dishes to die for. I ate in many fish restaurants on this trip and it is difficult to choose the best but this would be in the top two.

Thank RobTVR
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Having been highly recommended this restaurant by locals was utterly disgusted by the service, attitude and treatment of the waitresses and their way of dealing with, what was simply their mistake! Spend your money elsewhere where you will be treated like a customer. You would...More

1  Thank Spanna27
manxfoodie, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

readers - the views express by this lady exemplifies the reasons i asked the party to leave. Their inexcusable bad behavior and rudeness to my staff was unjustifiable.

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I've eaten here before on over £100 / head entertaining my team. Staff this time we're frankly obnoxious, told my table we lied about our champagne order and basically told us to leave. Never returning - hope the restaurant fails, frankly they deserve to, nobody...More

2  Thank Andrew N
manxfoodie, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

there is more to this " story " than I want to bore you with. Tanroagan has a high reputation on the island, my staff are professionals and I will not condone any bad behavior or rudeness towards them. During that evening I suggested that...More

PreviousNext
13456750
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Isle of Man
Admiral House
154 reviews
.32 km away
The Claremont Hotel
407 reviews
.36 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
640 reviews
.45 km away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
302 reviews
.52 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Little Fish Cafe
499 reviews
.04 km away
14 North
534 reviews
.15 km away
Just Pizza & Pasta
195 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Man Bus and Rail
1,062 reviews
.33 km away
Manx Museum
723 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
172 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
10 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
6 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
12 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$70
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing