We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (67 reviews)
“fish fingers” (22 reviews)
“plaice” (18 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 530 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2018

I ordered a filleted fish and it was much too salty . I notified the waitress that it was too salty to eat and she took my dish. After a few minutes she returned and said that the chef had tasted the fished and declared...More

Thank judy e
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Sorry to hear about your meal experience. I can see you were not satisfied with the chefs response. Seasoning is part of the cooking process and the chef will have tasted dishes throughout cooking to ensure it was seasoned appropriately to his specification. However, seasoning...More

Reviewed January 9, 2018

Usually have fab lobster on the menu, staff are friendly and helpful. A little cold in winter as its glass fronted, but fab seafood well cooked. Starters are excellent and good selection of wine and cocktails, plus mini puds for those eating healthy.More

Thank Splosh27
Robin M, Manager at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Thank you for your review. The island sure has great lobsters and shellfish. Throughout winter it would be best to ask ahead if you would like to reserve Lobsters as the winter weather makes going out to sea unpredictable and can limit supplies. Look forward...More

Reviewed January 5, 2018

Went to Tanroagan with my son while we were touring the Isle of Man. It was fantastic. We loved it so much that we went to its sister restaurant , the Boatyard, in Peel. I wanted queenie pancakes to start but didn't want the Lardons....More

Thank nancyneville
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Excellent food, lost its way a couple of years back but back on top from now. Old niggles still remain, tables crammed in et cetera but fun and top food and service. Don't however, think of staying passed 3.00 for lunch they would rather you...More

Thank willcott
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to this restaurant & again I was not disappointed. This visit was on a snowy freezing evening, which meant that many people had cancelled their reservations. There was also an issue with the water supply, so they could not use...More

Thank Gastromanc
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Great fish and seafood restaurant. The soy glazed hake was out of this world! Lovely cosy atmosphere at the restaurant and great service.Highly recommended

Thank CindyThompson15
Reviewed December 2, 2017

Very good crepes and I would come back for these. The wine was also good as was the service, because it came out on time for the group. I think that the desserts need working on.

Thank IOMtravelgirl
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Very accomplished cooking - great fish - Chef was very interactive and understands his fish - we enjoyed it here.

Thank Tom29bobby
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We were a party of 14 on a very busy Friday night. Our orders were taken and the food arrived all at the same time. Our wine and drinks orders also arrived at the time. The food was very good and the staff were excellent.

Thank Jacm35
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful pancake starter with scallops topped with cheese followed by lobster. The cheese soufflé was also. Ugh enjoyed.

Thank DS2210
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Isle of Man
The Claremont Hotel
439 reviews
.36 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
711 reviews
.45 km away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
344 reviews
.52 km away
Halvard Hotel
11 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Just Pizza & Pasta
260 reviews
.21 km away
Wine Down
270 reviews
.17 km away
Little Fish Cafe
548 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Man Bus and Rail
1,142 reviews
.33 km away
Manx Museum
794 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
199 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
11 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
September 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
October 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
February 12, 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$66
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing