We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (65 reviews)
“fish fingers” (22 reviews)
“sea bass” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 490 of 510 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

Another top location to eat in Douglas just around the corner from the quaside. Their homemade fishfingers are posh fish and chips that simply melt in the mouth and the half lobster with queenies is worth every penny although order a side as the portion...More

Thank julesie72
Reviewed November 16, 2011

i would highly reccomend this restaurant. lovely and friendlly staff and very, very good quality food and wine, with lovely touches throughout. and im fussy.

Thank james h
Reviewed November 2, 2011

A small and intimate restaurant with an uppity wait staff. We both enjoy a beer with dinner, which apparently is frowned upon at this establishment in lieu of high-priced wine. We both had a half-lobster, salad and two beers each in return for a bill...More

Thank D.Farkswald
manxfoodie, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Hi not sure what a " scoosh " means - American/English translation!! We pride ourselves on our customer care so this was very disappointing that all our usual good works were lost and you didnt enjoy your dinner because of it. The young lady in...More

Reviewed October 26, 2011

Excellent food and service. The freshest fish cooked to perfection. I took my family to Tanroagan for lunch as a special treat. There was the usual wide selection of fresh fish along with various daily specials. My wife had Skate wings, my daughter fish pie,...More

Thank andymfinch
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Excellent seafood, friendly and efficient staff, relaxed and enjoyable evening. Small restaurant so booking essential.

Thank Marshall04
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Widely touted as the best fish restaurant in the Isle of Man, a place ironically not known as having many true fish restaurants, I found it a disappointing for a business lunch. Granted, the staff could not have been more courteous or helpful and the...More

Thank bbean1
manxfoodie, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Hi sorry you were disappointed, wish you had mentioned the coffee at the time, Please come again - on us - and try some of our on local fish and shellfish at its best.

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have been several times over the past 3 years and love it. We have never had a bad meal or service. The staff on our visits have always been friendly and attentive. I have to say the only downside is the size of the...More

Thank Preciousbabyiom
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A warm, friendly welcome. The woman who seated us would not be out of place in the best hotels and restaurants in the world. The service, food and ambience was everything we hoped for. For a taste experience try the Queenie fritters or Crab toast!...More

Thank DavidStern
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is one of the most recommended restaurants on a poorly served Isle of Man. It was always fully booked when we tried but eventually we arrived ontime at 8pm yet got our starter at 8.55. It is a small cramped restaurant..very noisy! Clearly the...More

1  Thank PandPCotswoldsUK
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I had heard good reviews about this place and I have to say that the food was good. However, the tables are packed so tightly together that there was no room to move and I don't want to jostle elbows with the person at the...More

1  Thank aileen33
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Isle of Man
The Claremont Hotel
420 reviews
.36 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
666 reviews
.45 km away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
326 reviews
.52 km away
Sefton Hotel
693 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Just Pizza & Pasta
224 reviews
.21 km away
Macfarlanes
261 reviews
.17 km away
Little Fish Cafe
516 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Man Bus and Rail
1,091 reviews
.33 km away
Manx Museum
751 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
180 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
10 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
September 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
October 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
February 12, 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$66
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;