We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bellamy's Bistro

71 High Street | Isle of Wight, Sandown PO36 8AD, England
+44 1983 403288
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (41 reviews)
“chowder” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Seafood, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
71 High Street | Isle of Wight, Sandown PO36 8AD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Eat here as the Melville Hotel, where I was staying, would not find me room in their restaurant. Was more than pleasantly surprised. Small, and friendly. The food was excellent, service just right, prices good. So pleased, ignored the hotel restaurant the next night, and...More

Thank Timetraveller-2007UK
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

It is east to see why this place is so good, menu choices are vast and really tasty. The specials board was full of great dishes and some great one liners! These type of family run independent restaurants are the backbone of this country and...More

Thank David J
Reviewed 3 days ago

I called at 5.30pm on the off chance they just managed to book us in (I later whilst eating saw over 20 turned away. The staff were most helpful, and polite without being in your face. We were a party 0f 4 we all had...More

Thank Nelson R
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. As you say we are a small busy little Bistro, especially during the summer months. Next week we have the scooters 🏍 arriving to the island, So booking is a good...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Bellamy's for a family meal. Instantly we were met with a very friendly lady who made us feel at ease. The décor is lovely so many little trinkets and things to enjoy. The food was beautiful and very filling, my 8 year old...More

1  Thank Tara P
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for such a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you next year. We always feel pleased to know time at Bellamy's has been enjoyed. Thank you Yvonne Simon and the Team 😃

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

to the Isle of Wight next week?" was the question our daughter put to our granddaughter. Fully expecting an answer such as Robin Hill, Amazon World or the Zoo, but no it was going to Bellamy's. So there! This is the 5th year the five...More

1  Thank Tony36
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

How lovely! We always look forward to the return of our 'summer holiday' regulars. It's great to catch up and see what's happening in their lives. We are so pleased you keep choosing us. We look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice experience fish was very good need to book & they close early. but worth a visit..staff friendly &helpful

Thank Eppingfox
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and. Hope we see you again. Thank you Yvonne Simon and the Team 😀

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted warmly. Good menu and specials too. We chose pasta arabiata and told it is fiery and she sure was right, the hottest arabiata I've ever tasted! Husband loved it, I did too but would have preferred a little less chilli for me,...More

Thank deedee_is
Yvonne B, Proprietors at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How lovely that you say you wish you had come back to us! We wish you had too! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The arabiata pasta is spicy, we do cook it to order and could have made it milder...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quality of the food was very good. Still, if I go for a large portion, I should NOT be left feeling hungry!More

Thank marcdanieldammann
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you firstly, for the compliment on the quality of the food you were served. We are so sorry you left us feeling hungry. The usual complaint is that the meals have left no room for desserts. I can see from your other reviews, that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a homely place with good staff. Hanging baskets outside the door are immaculate, and the atmosphere inside is comfortable and a little pub-like. It is family-friendly and obviously suits the loyal band of customers it caters for. Staff were welcoming, and service prompt...More

Thank hwylasbri
Yvonne B, Proprietors at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. As you say, we are not a 'nouvelle cuisine' restaurant. Our aim is to present high quality 'Homemade', 'locally sourced' food, in the 'bistro...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Since Bellamy's was recommended to us a couple of years ago, we never miss eating here when we visit the Island. The food is outstanding, and the friendly staff make sure you have the best time. Looking forward to another few meals later in the...More

Thank cats149
Yvonne B, Proprietors at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We love seeing our returning customers and catching up with them. We are delighted you once again enjoyed your time with us. We will endeavour to keep you returning! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Beach Cafe
452 reviews
.26 km away
The Reef
690 reviews
.10 km away
Flanagan's
372 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Wight Zoo
2,061 reviews
1.16 km away
Dinosaur Isle
724 reviews
.81 km away
Sandown Pier
1,030 reviews
.28 km away
Steve's Beach
68 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chris T
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Yvonne B | Property representative |
We would rather you phoned as we don't always have time to check on line 01983 403 288 Hope we see you soon.
0
Votes
jeana2601
24 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Yvonne B | Property representative |
Hello I'm sorry we are not opening until 21st March :(
0
Votes
AmeliaHanratty
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Yvonne B | Property representative |
Hello, I'm so sorry we have just started to close on Sunday evenings. We also close all day and evening on Monday's. It's a good idea to book as you can be sure to get a table. Hope this helped.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$77
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Monday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Thursday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Friday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Saturday
10:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 71 High Street | Isle of Wight, Sandown PO36 8AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 403288
Description
We are a popular 'Bistro'. We open from 10:00 in the morning, closing at 2.30, we re-open for the evening at 5.30 last orders at 8.30 in the evening, during the summer. Our opening times vary with the seasons. We are small and friendly, having the capacity for 32 covers. Our food is cooked in our own kitchen by 2 very good chefs. We use fresh ingredients and locally produced Beef, Lamb and free-range eggs from a local farm. Lobster and Crab from local fishermen. We try our best to deliver great food, attentive service, pleasant atmosphere, and an enjoyable dining, experience all at good value.
Last orders 15 mins before closing time. However, there is no rush for evening diners to leave the the Bistro we will happily continue to serve drinks and desserts to diners already with us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing