We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Shack

Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
+44 1983 401392
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crab cakes” (43 reviews)
“samphire” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, British, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I tried to order at the ice cream window. I had my baby in the buggy and could not easily get inside alone as there is a step. I stood at the ice cream window and caught the eye of the lady inside. I waited...More

Thank Carolion1
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I'm really sorry that you feel snubbed, I would never have intentionally ignored you. I was serving at the bar on my own, it was very busy. You did indeed catch my eye, I assumed that you were waiting for somebody to come out of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

So we had pedalled our way around the Island and came across this little eating hole. We ordered fish n chips, expecting the usual... but it was in a different league. These were probably one of the best. The salad was peppered with samphire and...More

Thank ljay198
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your lunch so much and that the staff were good!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband & I visited here on Tuesday of this week. We usually eat here at least once on our annual trip to IOW. The food, setting & atmosphere was as lovely as always. We ordered & thoroughly enjoyed the crab soup, the mushroom soup...More

1  Thank helenhlancashire21
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wrong location I'm afraid, unfortunately the place in Steephill decided to call themselves the Beach Shack. We are in Sandown and have been called the Beach Shack for years. This does give rise to confusion I'm afraid.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely little beach cafe, well thought out and in a prime location on the seafront. Lovely place to people watch and enjoy a beverage. We stopped for a bite to eat and food was lovely. They are open later at the weekend and sometimes...More

Thank LoveEgyptLove
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, glad you like the cafe as much as we do! See you soon ...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came the first day and loved it, although didn't eat food. Came back a second day as was really looking forward to eating lots of food over a leisurely afternoon playing cards with my kids. Felt a little like I wasn't welcome straight away, had...More

Thank George S
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

First things first, that notice has been on the toilet door for 3 years, we've had a terrific summer and are not miserable at all! It is headed "Polite Notice", which everyone can see from the picture you have kindly posted. I (Amanda) have the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fantastic! Beautiful food,extremely friendly and helpful staff will heading back during our stay on the island

Thank Donna M
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much! So glad you enjoyed it and that our staff treated you well.

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Had a delicious lunch with the family. Children could play on the beach while we had drinks and waited for our wonderful food. The crab cakes are amazing! There is the Sandown Bicycle and Beach Hire there too. We enjoyed a fun bike ride afterwards

Thank jamiedavidson77
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you all enjoyed it!

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Popped into here as always wanted to give it a try. Ideal location nicely done out inside and outside. Young girls serving and waiting were friendly. Order was a bit slow coming my friend had almost eaten hers before I got mine. Looks like they...More

Thank malibulover2013
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review. Did you order separately? I trust our staff dealt with the well if you mentioned it to them. The oil is ordinary cooking oil so I'm not sure what we can do there. There's no room for another chef in...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Service was quite slow. Children's meals are not big. Waiters are friendly and will help you with your decision. Good location by the sea front. Not the best place by the sea though.More

Thank louiscoleuk
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review. There is often a wait for food in August at the beach I'm afraid as it can get extremely busy. We can only do what we can do in a kitchen our size. I hope that when you ordered the...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Are here a couple of times after discovering it quite by accident. A lovely seaside option, great for lunch, though also keen to try their breakfast menu which looks delicious. Fab for families as lots of qualit choices. Posh fish finger wrap was the best...More

Thank TBorine
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much! The posh fish finger wrap is proving very popular this summer! Glad you had a good time.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bellamy's Bistro
585 reviews
.53 km away
The Beach Cafe
476 reviews
.27 km away
The Reef
714 reviews
.62 km away
Flanagan's
395 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dinosaur Isle
748 reviews
1.33 km away
Sandown Pier
1,083 reviews
.25 km away
Steve's Beach
71 reviews
.73 km away
Glory Art Glass
80 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sabbenne
17 October 2016|
Answer
Response from gregtheegg | Property representative |
Hi, we close at 4, no need to book
0
Votes
Maria K
19 June 2015|
Answer
Response from gregtheegg | Property representative |
Yes we do from this Friday night
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$54
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 401392
  • E-mail
Description
WE ARE NOW open daily for the coming season
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing