We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Swan

Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
+44 1751 472288
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“belly pork” (16 reviews)
“mussels” (6 reviews)
Open Now
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only called in for a quick drink with my wife . Found the service exemplary, the food looked first class and the place itself was impeccable. Top marks.

Thank Andrew S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food, and real ales. Friendly service and welcoming snug bar. Good selection of fine wines, albeit a bit pricey-which seems to be the norm these days. Accomodation also available, but we haven't tried it yet.Recommended if you like your food!

Thank Mike M
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Love sitting in this bar. It may be small but the welcome and service are fantastic. This is a dog freiendly pub so don't whine if there are dogs present but we love it. It's what life is all about - sitting back watching the...More

Thank FantasticFourLeeds
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

What a great review, thank you. We'd agree that there are few pleasures as great as eating good, honest food and sipping real ales by an open fire. Four legged friends of the canine variety are truly welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

We had a lovely time here on a short break. The hotel ( family owned and run) was warm, friendly and comfortable with good beds, a cosy bar and easy parking. The meals were freshly cooked and local produce was used-dinner was excellent and the...More

Thank Ted H
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for such a great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back as soon as possible. Best wishes from the team at The White Swan Inn.

Reviewed 27 February 2018

We went for Sunday lunch and had a very enjoyable experience. We had our dog with us, and therefore got a table in the bar area, as no dogs allowed in restaurant. The room was very cosy with a log fire burning to keep us...More

Thank Roadworn57
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for such a great review. Good to hear how much you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. It's always great to receive feedback, good or bad, and your comments on the chicken have been noted. We love the idea of gathering friends and...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018

went for Christmas meal with a fixed menu with plenty of notice the food was absolute rubbish anemic roast potatoes, tasteless gravy, plastic turkey, avoidMore

1  Thank Paul B
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Paul. We're very sorry to hear you had a below par meal. We are wondering if you have the right White Swan, Pickering?? Absolutely no plastic turkey comes out of our kitchen, only signature free range turkey. Incidentally, we have been discussing what we...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times now and called in for lunch on our way to Robin Hoods Bay. The food is Ok and the beer good. This time the tea my wife ordered had a dirty cup and the atmosphere was a bit stale, a...More

1  Thank Paddy459
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear this and have taken all of your comments on board, a dirty cup is a basic error and should not have happened. We do always try to put things right for our guests and all of...More

Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Stopped her for a bite of lunch and it was very pleasant. We both had steak ciabatta and it was cooked to perfection. No fat and no blood. Would definitely return if in the area

1  Thank donnaj123
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 23 January 2018

Only had lunch in the Bar area but was very disappointed with the food as i have been there before I felt the food on this visit was poor. I had ordered a cappuccino and got a white coffee, sorry when you ask for a...More

2  Thank jamesosborne
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for you review and comments. Clearly we are not in the business of serving below par food or drinks and I am truly sorry you that this time you had a bad experience. I have spoken to the front of house team who...More

Reviewed 16 January 2018

Make sure to reserve as can be quite crowded, especially during hunting season. Enjoy the ambience with the big fireplace. A drink in the old bar out front is recommended before the meal starts ;-)

1  Thank Ger T
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your review. Really please to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes from the team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Pickering Hotels
The White Swan Inn
724 reviews
.02 km away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
448 reviews
.24 km away
Old Manse Hotel
263 reviews
.45 km away
Easthill Farm House
60 reviews
5.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Willowgate Bistro
664 reviews
.07 km away
Lazy Sundae
135 reviews
.06 km away
Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms
279 reviews
.13 km away
Feast
193 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beck Isle Museum
309 reviews
.21 km away
St Peter's & St Paul's Church
204 reviews
.12 km away
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
3,339 reviews
.12 km away
Pickering Castle
373 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kay L
12 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from rubyandviolet | Reviewed this property |
Yes we took our dog and they were great with him.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$74
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Pickering
  • Phone Number: +44 1751 472288
  • E-mail
Description
The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;