We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matteo's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1BS, England
+44 1429 275999
Today
15:30 - 22:30
11:30 - 14:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 16:00
Mon - Sat 15:30 - 22:30
Tue - Sat 11:30 - 14:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 201: English reviews
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great value for money. We had a lovely cocktail. It's great to see the younger staff gaining experience. A lovely atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank christopherjohnson74
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your lovely comment😊we see agine soon x More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very welcoming. This small restaurant was very busy but we were made to feel very special. The food was excellent and we served very promptly . The staff were very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank andiemaxwell
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Thank you very much I am so pleased you had good time 😊 More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a couple of times the good is fresh and delicious it's also very reasonable the atmosphere is great and they are good with kids. There are lots of Italians to choose from but I think the food here is the best and full of flavour some of the others can be s bit watery and bland. I'd recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank gavin s
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Thank you very much or your positIve feedback 😊😊 More 

North East
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from Matteo's Lobster Night, what a great meal. I love this restaurant the staff are friendly and efficient, like a chat and the food and wine are great value for money. Felt like I was on holiday in the med and when we left the restaurant it was 30 degrees outside. Unfortunately it was 30 degrees Fahrenheit but... More 

Helpful?
Thank highwaymanNorthEast
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Hahaha thank you very much iam so glad you had good night 😀😀😊 and we see again soon More 

Seaton Carew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff, comfortable seating, extensive menu, reasonable price, lovely atmosphere. We had a 2 course meal for £8 95. Steak was delicious, chicken succulent and plenty of it. Very busy so booking is a must. Free parking at the moment. We enjoyed the night will return. Recommend for any occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Thank you for you very much 😊 More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my family for my birthday and so glad I picked this place. The staff are so friendly - they even let us order outside of the set Valentine's Day menu as that was quite restricting. However, some did order from set menu some didn't and all of our food was delicious and top quality! Only downfall was... More 

Helpful?
Thank alishalily14
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

I am gald you had good meal and sorry a bout the cold 😊 More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

Food is yummy, and staff are really attentive. Good value. Ask for a window seat. If you enjoy Italian food this is the place to go. Specials are on offer as well.

Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback 😊 More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017

I used to always eat at Matteo's as a younger child and having moved to Seaton recently I decided to give it a go taking my boyfriend and his mam who have never been before. The food was gorgeous, as i remember it always was and the prices are very reasonable, we all really enjoyed our meals with good waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

We are sorry the service was in the best we are trying to train everybody thank you for your comment 😊 More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017

There was a friendly and lively atmosphere on a busy on a Thursday night at Matteos. Our host was very attentive, even offered to transfer us to a window seat when a table became available. Food was great, includng a very generous portion of Scallops as a starter. The service was well paced - not too rushed as can be... More 

Helpful?
Thank alisonblinston
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback 😊😊 More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We visited for Sunday Lunch today. It was the first time since under new ownership that we visited and the first day for the Sunday lunches. There is the one two and three course meal option so we chose a sunday lunch (all got the beef) and a dessert. The beef and gravy were delicious and everything else was good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
Amr G, Owner at Matteo's, responded to this review

Hi i am so sorry to hear about your experience yesterday we did have a few hiccups as it was our first Sunday lunch and the waitress you identified was new to us from Friday however this is no excuse for her being rude again we apologise and hope you would return to us one day thank you for your... More 

Travellers who viewed Matteo's also viewed

Hartlepool, Durham
Hartlepool, Durham
 
Hartlepool, Durham
 

Been to Matteo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$24
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Takeout, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Monday
15:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
15:30 - 22:30
11:30 - 14:00
Wednesday
15:30 - 22:30
11:30 - 14:00
Thursday
15:30 - 22:30
11:30 - 14:00
Friday
15:30 - 22:30
11:30 - 14:00
Saturday
15:30 - 22:30
11:30 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Hartlepool
  • Phone Number: +44 1429 275999

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Matteo's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?